Greatest. Invention. Ever.

At least to me.

(Oh, and a give-away — keep reading.)

I’m not sure I could continue quilting without them.

Or if I did, I’d be a grouchy quilter.

I’m talking about ThimblePads.

I LOVE to do handwork.

It’s my quilting task of choice.

From hand piecing, to whipping down the binding when it’s done, I love the entire process of handwork.

I love hand embroidery and beading, English paper piecing (hexies), and hand quilting, too, but my very favorite type of handwork is needle-turn hand applique.

However, I could not do any of it as comfortably as I do without ThimblePads.

I’ve been quilting for over 35 years, and trust me, I’ve tried every thimble there is. For awhile, I was on a thimble mission, snatching up every new one I saw and giving it a go.

Trouble is, if I put a normal metal thimble on my “quilting finger”, that finger instantly becomes useless. I even hold it out away from my other fingers as if it’s deformed or injured in some fashion, and I can’t use it. I gave them a good chance . . . tried oh so many different kinds and brands . . . but nope — as soon as the thimble goes on, the finger goes out of commission.

If I try the softer ones, they work for about 5 minutes. I push really hard when hand quilting, and the needle always ends up going backwards through the thimble and sticking me anyway. Or getting stuck in the thimble and I can’t get it back out.

I admire those of you who can use a real thimble. But it baffles me. And eludes me. Even after years of trying . . .

But about 10 years ago I found ThimblePads, and they changed my life. Whoda thunk a little 1/4″ piece of fuzzy leather with a sticky side could be such a life-altering invention?

You just stick it on the spot on your finger where you push the needle, and there it stays while you stitch to your heart’s content. If you have to take it off, it will restick many times before you have to switch to a new one.

It’s very comfortable. You hardly know it’s there. In fact, I’ve even at times forgotten I’m wearing one, and found myself washing dishes with it still on!

They come 12 in a package, and a package will last quite awhile. A package used to cost around $5, but like everything recently, the price has gone up, and they’re up to around $6 or $7 now. But so worth it.

If you hand quilt, they also have a product called UnderThimble, which is a metal disk for the hand you use on the bottom.

It has little adhesive circles that you use to stick the metal one to your bottom finger, and it keeps you from turning your under finger into hamburger while quilting.

Some are worried that you can’t “feel” the needle well enough, and I was, too, at first, but really, you can, and you get used to it. And you just buy sticky refills for the metal piece when you need them, which isn’t very often.

If you’d like to get some, I don’t think you’ll be sorry. Ask at your local quilt shop, and if they don’t have them, Kelly, over at I Have a Notion, does:

On the Shopping page, just scroll down to the search box, and type in thimblep and it will bring up a couple selections. You can thank me later . . .

Meanwhile, since I haven’t hosted a give-away in quite some time, I’m giving away TWO sets of Thimblepads.

Each set has a package of the Thimblepads for your upper finger, an UnderThimble with adhesive stickers for your bottom finger, and a package of refills for the UnderThimble.

So . . . all you have to do to get yourself a chance to win a set of Thimblepads is leave a comment below, and I’ll draw for two winners on Tuesday, June 28th.

Published in: on June 23, 2011 at 9:23 pm  Comments (20)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/06/23/greatest-invention-ever/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’ve never tried them Shelly and I’ve had hamburger fingers many times!

  2. I have used these and quite like them. However, I’ve found a thimble style I love and is dirt cheap, oh, and that I have built up a callus on the middle finger of my right hand. I have YET to find something for my bottom finger. I can’t wait until I have a need to be fingerprinted and they discover that I have no prints on my left pointer finger

  3. Great giveaway – I could have used one of those today!! I enjoy the handwork also although I have only hand sewn bindings.

  4. THimble pads are terrific! Thanks for the chance.

  5. Left a comment…

    Left a comment…

    Left a comment…

    LOL…. Seriously, I’ve never tried these before ’cause you look at them, in their package and you say to yourself, “Self, do you HONESTLY think those ity, bitty thingies will protect your pudgey finger tips?!??”

    And then, it takes me 5 minutes to re-insert them back on their metal hanger, on the wall and to walk away.

    Now, I’ve learned. When I see them on the wall in the quilt store, I just walk on by. *s*

    I’d LOVE a chance to win a package of these!

    Tks!

    Rosa Robichaud
    Your Canadian Buddette, eh?
    *VBG*

  6. Very cool! Never heard of them before. I have the same problem with thimbles. Would love to give them a try!

  7. I was starting to put a binding on a quilt that I just got from my QUILTER and kept poking myself so I kept thinking I need to hunt for a thimble. It would be nice to try one of these.

  8. I’m anxious to give these a try! My MIL is a hand quilter and I think these would be wonderful for her! I might have to sneak one or two for myself too! Thanks so much for keeping those of us who live under a rock informed! Ans thank you for the wonderful opportunity to win a set!

  9. This looks like a good product. As I look at my poor, needle-pricked fingers!

  10. It looks like just what I need! Please put me in the drawing!

  11. Just blogged about your contest:
    http://robich.blogspot.com/2011/06/greatest-invention-ever-by-prairie-moon.html

    And I posted a note about your contest on 2 of my yahoo groups.

    Hope this was okay, my friend…

    Rosa

  12. I would love to try out one of those prodeucts, as I have trouble finding thimbles that fit.

  13. Just read one of the yahoo notes from Rosa. Would love to try them. A couple of my fingers have some many pin pricks in them. Thank you for sharing.

  14. Hi Shelly,

    I am glad to know I am not the only one to have problems with thimbles. Seems like we have the exact problem and thus, I tend to not use one. I have never tried these, nor had I ever heard of anyone who had. Will have to keep my eyes open.

  15. Thimblepads! What a great idea!
    And if you love hand piecing, have you looked at Inklingo? Check it out at http://www.inklingo.com, you will be glad you did! 🙂

    Sara in Ne

  16. hmmmm. Love to try them. Thanks for sharing

  17. I would love to try these, as I destroyed my favorite metal thimble and have yet to find another that fits properly.

  18. It looks like something I would need, just started to learn hand quilting.
    Hope to win, and hope you are going to send it far, far away (Croatia, Europe)

  19. these look awesome (I have a hole in my finger)

  20. How cool is this!!!! I’m excited! I just started handwork and have been feeling it. Thanks for the review and the giveaway!


Leave a Reply

