Partners in Crime

I spent the day sewing at my best friend’s house yesterday.

Well, I say sewing, but actually all we did was cutting.

We planned years ago to each do a Kaffe Fassett quilt. This one:

It’s called the Hat Boxes Quilt.

It’s from this book:

I started collecting toiles and threw them all in a box. When Rose Marie said she wanted to get together and get started, do you think I could find that box anywhere? NOooo. After all, we planned this years ago. But I finally located the box, and off I went to her house for the day.

We dug through her stash for all the “wallpaper” and “background” and “floor” fabrics, and that is what we cut out.

And now we each have a nice pile of these to make into the backgrounds for the hat boxes to sit upon.

The interesting part of doing this together is that we have all the same background pieces. But we’re not going to see how we each put them together, and we’re excited to see how different the 2 quilts will be even tho we’re using the same background fabrics.

Our goal for our next get together, sometime in July, is to have all the backgrounds done, and then finish cutting out the actual hat box pieces to go on them. We’re not cutting our hat boxes from the same fabrics. She’s using mostly large-scale florals, and I’m using all toiles.

Isn’t it fun to drag an accomplice in on a new project with you?

Published in: on June 25, 2011 at 10:50 am  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/06/25/partners-in-crime/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I spent the day yesterday sewing with my best friend too. We often have sewing or cutting parties. It’s such a great way to get motivated to get things done!

  2. Yeah, and you’re very good at that dragging. Do you have enough toiles or should I start hunting? Sounds like y’all had a good day!

  3. I LOVE THIS QUILT – I have a postcard of it on the bulletin board in my sewing room. I want to make it someday, I probably ought to concentrate on getting more toiles. SO nice to see it – I’ll be interested to watch your progress!

  4. Friday night my girlfriend and I spent a good part of the evening shopping for fabric for quilts we’re working on. It is so much fun having an accomplice.
    I can’t wait to see how your hatboxes turn out, how big is the finished size supposed to be?

  5. Sounds like a lot of fun; looking forward to seeing both quilts at show and tell. next month?

  6. That sounds like so much fun. I have a friend that we’re both doing a quilt together throughout the fall and winter (however long it takes). It’s a crazy bag pattern from Buggy Barn and we decided to go with black and white bags. You’d think they would look similar however I managed to spy a couple of her fat quarters and they have a totally different look then the black and whites I’ve chosen. Plus I bought a hot pink fat quarter to use for the flower on one of the bags (just one, to create a pop). I think our “taste” is going to show quite a difference between the two quilts.

    Anyway, do you have enough toile? I ask b/c I picked up in Skagway 2 metres (I guess since it was in the U.S. I picked it up, it’s 2 yards) of Northern Toile. (it was on sale, how could I resist) It’s a brown toile with northern animals on it (bears). It may give you a touch of something different and unexpected…let me know if you would like a square, even if it’s just to audition against your others.

  7. Show n Tell next month? You’ve got to be kidding, Michele! We have another joint project that I still haven’t finished and it was started in 2001 or something like that. I really ought to pull that one out of the pile and finish the top. Shelly did some absolutely fabulous appliqued suns on it. I think I am intimidated to add my last border to it. How can it be improved now!! See! That is the downside to a really great partner in crime. Intimidation!!

  8. That sounds like fun, and it looks like a really fun quilt. My friend, Jill, and I went shopping together when I was in Utah. We got kits of the same quilt that we’re going to both do….we decided to start them together and help keep each other motivated to get them done. Should be tons of fun. I think the use of toiles will be awesome. I love what you’ve cut out so far and can’t wait to see it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

