LIVE2011 July Update

Time already for another LIVE2011 update. Wow! Where did June go?

Here’s my July update on my 11 things for this year:

1. Faithfully keep a daily diary

Still haven’t missed a day. I’m still boring, for some reason. If you graphed my diary against my mother’s, her graph would be going up and down and up and down, from happy to sad to normal to uneventful to busy to silly, and mine would be flatlining . . . It’s a learning experience. I’ll get better . . . I hope.

2. Finish 100 (quilting or sewing-related) projects this year

I’m up to 12 finished projects now. I seem to be stuck at finishing only 2 things a month, but I guess that’s better than nothing. It’s just a far cry from 100!

3. Get my studio whipped into shape (be more organized)

I really made some progress on the studio this month. I’ll be telling you about it in a separate post once I have some pictures.

4. Make major improvements to the ranch shack

I have stalled on my next project, due to my inability to make decisions. More on that later . . .

5. Ride my horse more

I have had chances to ride, and flat turned them down in favor of quilting. I regret that decision a couple of times, but it hasn’t really hurt me. It’s not like Bonnie and I are preparing for an event. We’re both just old girls who need exercise!

6. Pay more attention to my health

I’ve been doing better on remembering to take my vitamins, drinking hardly any soda, and watching portion control. I’ve even gone for a walk and done other exercise a few times, and I lived to tell you about it, so it’s obviously not going to kill me to start exercising again. That’s the next thing I’d like to concentrate on — more regular exercise — but it just doesn’t sound fun, so I’m going to have to figure out a way to make it a game for myself.

7. Establish some routines (personal and work-related)

I’ve done some more tweaking to my schedule, and it’s working really well. I think I’ll be leaving it alone for awhile, and see how much more productive I can be. Naturally, I turned it into a game for myself, and that seems to be working right now . . .

8. Decrease my fabric stash

I have busted right along on this one. I’ve used over 60 yards! You can see those reports HERE.

9. Decrease my number of UFOs

Another 2 scratched off the list. I’m using my Procrastination Challenge to knock things off the list. The only problem is, the things on the list all need to be quilted, and I’m too busy quilting for other people to squeeze mine into my longarm schedule. Therefore, I’ve decided that for every so many quilts I do for others, I’ll put one of my own on the schedule, too. I’m hoping that plan works for me. We’ll see.

10. Get back to work on competition quilting

While I have not yet taken a stitch toward this effort, I HAVE gotten an area set up for that purpose. It’s part of my rearrangement of my studio that I’ll be posting about later, so keep your eyes peeled for pictures.

11. Cultivate my creativity

I was given a stack of art magazines, and WOW! are they inspiring! I’ve also done more sketching, planning, and doodling. I’m ready to put some of those doodles into action, so to that end, I’ve actually done some real designing and am working on some new quilts. Guess you’ll get to see those when I get a bit further along . . .

Sometimes it doesn’t seem like I get much done, but baby steps are better than sitting still, I guess. It’s shaping up to be a busy summer and busy clear on into fall, with some new classes to teach, some travel and retreat plans, and several other things I’ve been itching to announce for quite some time. Stay tuned!

Published in: on July 6, 2011 at 12:34 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/07/06/live2011-july-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Regarding #1: You are not 15.

  2. I echo the above sentiments. Only 15 to 18 year olds live with alternating moods. It is like the principal of the alternating poles that make electric motors work. It is where they get their enormous energy.
    And NOW I really must come to your place for the next work day. I want to see the new studio arrangement.


Leave a Reply

