PC Update – Um, Mid-July

Yet again a few days late posting this, because . . .

What’s a Procrastination Challenge without a little procrastination?

I could have posted, but frankly, I wasn’t quite sure just what I wanted to say, so I’ve been procrastinating ruminating on it.

Back at the beginning of this year, I made a list of 10 items to work on and finish. Half of them are finished, due to this challenge. Now there are 5 still left to do, and they all just need to be quilted.

Therein lies the problem . . .

I mostly longarm quilt for other people, and when I squeeze one of my own in, it’s because of an urgent deadline. Evidently, I have not convinced myself that the Procrastination Challenge is an urgent deadline.

So what I first thought I might do is re-do the list. Then I realized that re-doing the list would only cause me to procrastinate on those 5 things even longer. So I came up with a better solution — one I suggested to myself just a couple weeks ago, and still haven’t acted on.

I’m going to schedule my own quilts into my longarm schedule more regularly. I’m going to treat myself like one of my own customers. I used to get more quilts finished when I paid someone else to quilt them for me. It’s part of the reason I bought a longarm: so I could quilt my own quilts the way I wanted to, when I wanted to, and not pay someone else to do it for me.

So . . . I’m leaving the list alone until the last 5 projects are also done, and the number I’ve drawn for myself to work on over the next two weeks is #8.

Ironically, this is the only hand-quilted piece on the list. Go figure. I won’t even need a slot in the longarm schedule for it. I just need to make myself sit down and hand quilt. So much for my new plan, huh?

I’ll let you know how it goes at the end of the month.

What are YOU procrastinating on?

Published in: on July 20, 2011 at 12:44 pm  Comments (1)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/07/20/pc-update-um-mid-july/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I like your logic!


Leave a Reply

