LIVE2011 August Update

I’m not sure where July went, and I’ll probably be saying that about August in another month. This summer has been busy!

Here’s my latest updates on my 11 things to do this year:

1. Faithfully keep a daily diary

Still haven’t missed a day. Still haven’t ceased to be boring. But I went back and read some of the previous entries, and they do serve to remind me of things, which is OK, I guess.

2. Finish 100 (quilting or sewing-related) projects this year

I’m up to 17 finished projects now. I had a little spurt of finishing things, which gave me more of a boost than usual. I’m still way behind. We DO all realize it’s August, right?

3. Get my studio whipped into shape (be more organized)

As much progress as I was making before, I really surpassed my own expectations this month. I still don’t have pictures because I’m still not ready to post about it, but I’ve done a lot of rearranging. My daughter moved, and gave me a bunch of storage items and furniture, which I’ve put to good use in the studio. I may finally be on my way to getting organized once and for all.

4. Make major improvements to the ranch shack

I made a little progress, and a few decisions. Now to find time to execute them. It’s been too hot to work too hard . . . I’ll see what happens in the next month.

5. Ride my horse more

I could have gone riding, and the one day I decided I’d buck up and do it, I went out to get her, and she had injured her foot. So no riding until her foot is all healed. I think she does that stuff on purpose . . .

6. Pay more attention to my health

Still no formal exercise. It’s too bad quilting isn’t an aerobic activity. I’d be in excellent shape if it were! As it is, I’m doing OK on eating, but I just can’t make myself get on the treadmill . . . ugh!

7. Establish some routines (personal and work-related)

I’m doing better all the time on my schedule. I still cram it way too full most days, but turning it into a game for myself still works, and I try to do better each week than I did the week before, which is a little added motivation to stick to the schedule. I try to be flexible when other things crop up, too. Sometimes those things just make me mad. I’m trying to be calm about all the interruptions, but sometimes it’s hard . . .

8. Decrease my fabric stash

I’m up to having used over 70 yards! I wanted to be to 100 by mid-year, so I’m a little behind on it, but we’ll see what happens. You can see the reports HERE.

9. Decrease my number of UFOs

Another 5 scratched off the list. I got on a bit of a finishing bender, and it really helped to knock off a few little things I needed to finish. I just realized, however, that I haven’t been counting the ones I’m starting as I go along, so my total number probably hasn’t changed as much as I think. I still don’t really want to know the total number just yet. I’m putting that off for awhile longer . . .

10. Get back to work on competition quilting

OK — the area I was all excited about setting up before? Ditched it, and made it even better because of some of the furniture my daughter gave me. It’s really great now. I just have to sit down and get started. Procrastination is an ugly disease . . .

11. Cultivate my creativity

I’ve been drawing, doodling, sketching, and dreaming, and loving it all. So many ideas, so little time! But with every step toward being more organized I take, all these ideas fall together a bit more. All these things will eventually work together, and one of these days, I’ll make some great things! You’ll just have to check back to see what they are!

Published in: on August 6, 2011 at 10:26 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/08/06/live2011-august-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You still seem worried about your “boring” journal entries. Perhaps you could add a little something from time to time. Rather than just writing about “what happened today” you could add trivia about yourself–favorite colors, earliest memory, special treats–the things that give detail and meaning to who you are. Another thought might be to include a funny quote of the day. Those always make me smile in your blog entries.

  2. Every time I read your updates, I am amazed and impressed at your ambition and accomplishments! I wish I lived close enough to come by so we could go for a run together!

  3. It was great to read your updates. Good for you using 70 yards of fabric! That’s impressive! I was keeping track (loosely, at least) up until may or June, then I just gave up tracking. Too much work.

    I also had a goal to make 100 things (last year?) but I petered out on that one, too. Maybe I need a refocus?!?! I think so!


Leave a Reply

