We Love French Knots

I am a quilter.

I am a quilter who loves to embroider.

(I also love to knit, but that’s a story for another day.)

Today, I want to ask you if you’ve heard of Bari J. Ackerman’s new web site, We Love French Knots?

If not, and you like embroidery, then you really have to go check it out. Or even if you’ve never tried embroidery before, you should go check it out. It just might get you started!

The site launched on July 25, and Bari offered a cute little sampler stitchery pattern for free right off the bat. Along with it, she offered a chance to win prizes to those who stitched at least part of it up and posted pictures on the Flickr Group for it.

Naturally, I don’t have mine finished, but I did get it far enough along to post a picture, and therefore be eligible for prizes. They’re great prizes! I need to win one of them!

I chose these colors because I want to make a pillow out of mine, and these colors match the fabrics I chose to make my pillow with. Not sure when I’ll get it done, but I’ll keep plugging away.

Embroidery is the perfect take-along project, so if you’ve never tried it before, now is a good time to start. Bari’s web site has videos on how to execute the stitches, with more being added all the time, so you can watch and learn how to do them yourself.

Bari also interviews embroidery designers, and they tell us their stories and offer free patterns. It’s interesting to learn how they got started and where they get their inspiration from.

Even if you think you’re more of a quilter than an embroiderer, I’m sure you’ve noticed how popular adding embroidery to quilts has become recently. At least one out of every 15 quilts I’m asked to quilt for my customers is an embroidered quilt of some type. I’ve even designed some of my own patterns with embroidery portions. You can see them in my Etsy Shop. So . . .

Have I talked you into it yet?

Seriously, go check out the We Love French Knots web site.

It just might get you started on a whole ‘nother hobby.

You know you need one!

Published in: on August 24, 2011 at 10:49 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/08/24/we-love-french-knots/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Yours looks great Shelly! Can you believe I just printed mine off today. I’d better get moving – actually I think I’m too late, but it’s so cute, I’m going to stitch it some day. Good luck with winning – hope you get all the prizes!

  2. What a great site Shelly! I love the sewing room sampler. I am always looking for projects I can do while waiting for kids. Don’t know when I will get around to starting it, but someday. 🙂

  3. That is such a great blog! I love it, so I’m happy you shared it with us. I really want to make that sampler too, but I couldn’t find the link for it. Where did you find the link for it? Love that color you’re using for your background. I haven’t done much embroidery in years, so I’m excited to see all this great inspiration!

  4. Thanks for sharing the link…I wish I had found it sooner, I would have joined in the contest, but still need to make one of those cute little samplers–and a pillow is a great idea!

  5. Shame on you.

    I love stitching, too. And I need more projects like I need a hole in my head! I loved this link and will try to jump in when I can. I don’t think I can take on the sampler right now, with school starting and the quilt along starting. But I’ll try to keep an eye on things and do some stuff with you all. I love that book she blogged about!


Leave a Reply

