BASICS Quilt Gather

Victoria at BumbleBeans, Inc., began the BASICS Quilt Gather last year to provide quilts to families in need through BASICS/Promesa, a community based organization in the South Bronx, New York City. They asked her if she could come up with 700 quilts! SEVEN HUNDRED!?! No hill for a stepper, right? Right . . .

So far, Victoria and her team of volunteers (perhaps you are on this team already?) have donated 350 quilts to the organization. You can read more about it here: BumbleBeansBASICS

Recently, Pat Sloan teamed up with Victoria to help raise another 400 quilt donations to finish the initial phase of the Quilt Drive (it’s an ongoing thing). If you finish your quilt during August, you can enter Pat’s Finish It Up Challenge and possibly win a prize.

And now Moda Bake Shop has also jumped on board to help spread the word. They provide free tutorials on their web site that you can use to whip up a quilt for this great cause in no time. Go check this out: Charity Quilt Drive

I’ve also got some quick and easy patterns in the Free Patterns section of my web site, if you’re interested in using one of those to create your BASICS quilt.

And . . . in addition . . .

Victoria has asked some of us longarm quilters to help out as well. If you make a quilt for BASICS, but can’t get it quilted, we can take care of that for you. I personally, will accept up to 5 BASICS quilt tops to finish and send to BASICS on your behalf.

Here’s the deal:

You make a quilt top for BASICS. Any size is fine.

You prepare your backing and batting and binding (and a label if you want), package it all up with the quilt top, and send it to me.

I’ll quilt the quilt, put the binding and label on, and send it off to BASICS for you. And I’ll let you know when I’ve done it.

The deadline for raising the next 400 quilts is November 24, so you need to figure in shipping time, plus time for me to quilt and bind and ship the quilt to BASICS.

If you want to take me up on my offer, just leave me a comment or email me. I’ll take the first five people who respond, and we’ll work out the final details from there.

Ready, Set . . . GO!

Published in: on August 25, 2011 at 9:57 am  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/08/25/basics-quilt-gather/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I’m working on my BASICS quilt this morning. I’ll be quilting it myself, but what a generous offer to quilt 5 for the project!

  2. Thanks Shelly! You were a great help last year and I count you as a dear friend, and am thrilled you will help out again this year. The quilts go to good homes. thank you so much!

  3. Hmmmm! That’s tempting. Maybe I could send you something that needs quilting and get a UFO off my list! haha! Let me see if I have something here or if I can finish something! You are so sweet! And so generous.


Leave a Reply

