LIVE2011 September Update

Little late with the update this month, but still didn’t want to skip it. I’ve been doing stuff!

1. Faithfully keep a daily diary

Still haven’t missed a day. By now it’s a habit. A good one. I’m glad I decided to do this, even if I’m not what I consider to be “good at it.”

2. Finish 100 (quilting or sewing-related) projects this year

I’m up to 21 finished projects now. It’s amazing what a few commissioned orders that have to get finished will do for your numbers! Plus I did some small things, like a pillow and a set of mug rugs. Still — finishes, and I’m glad to count them done. I’m almost 1/4 of the way to my goal of 100. (And here it is September . . . ugh!)

3. Get my studio whipped into shape (be more organized)

I’ve stalled on progress in the studio, because I’ve been concentrating on the shack itself instead this past month. Too bad I can’t do 16 things at once, but until I figure that out . . .

4. Make major improvements to the ranch shack

The shack’s kitchen is under major renovation. I’ve had My Cowboy engage in a bit of demolition (don’t all guys love tearing stuff up, especially with a crowbar?) My sister got me the paint, and I’m ready to keep going on that project. I’ve got some before pictures, and I’ll post them with some after pictures when I’m done, so you can compare. You’ll be astounded! (So will I, if I can actually pull it off like I’m planning . . .)

5. Ride my horse more

Although Bonnie’s foot isn’t all the way healed, I think she’s ride-able. I just haven’t chosen to go riding. I almost did go one day, then decided I simply didn’t have the energy to drag my saddle out there and tack her up and go. I’m sure if I could stick to my exercise program, I’d stop thinking my saddle is so heavy (and Bonnie would stop thinking I’m so heavy). Cooler weather is upon us, too, so I might eventually suck it up and muster the energy one of these days.

6. Pay more attention to my health

I started exercising. Then I stopped again. I desperately need to start again. I was real proud of myself for the 4 days I lasted! I’m hoping that the kitchen remodel is helping in some way. I’m sure vigorous cleaning and painting burns at least a few calories. I’m still doing OK on eating. I had a couple of real good weeks while My Cowboy wasn’t here and I didn’t have to cook a thing. There’s been a couple days when I can tell I ate a mite too much sugar. But the up side of that is: when I do, it makes me feel so bad that I’m back on good behavior right away just so I can get back to feeling better. I’m also trying really hard to drink more water every day. Why is that one thing so hard?

7. Establish some routines (personal and work-related)

I’m still making a schedule and not keeping it. Still trying to stay calm about interruptions, and barely succeeding. Getting behinder every day, which incites a bit of panic sometimes, but I keep trying. I have a daily list of things to do, but never keep a set time to do them. Maybe that’s my problem? But it’s impossible to keep too much structure in your life when you live on a farm, and things change by the minute. Certain things have to be done at certain times, emergencies happen (cows escape, horses get injured), weather and daylight hours dictate so much of what you do and when . . . when I start to whine about it, My Cowboy gently reminds me “that’s just life on a farm”. Thank goodness he never gets too ruffled. I do enough of that for both of us.

8. Decrease my fabric stash

I haven’t posted a Stash Report in quite awhile, but I have been keeping track, and will post another report soon. You can see the previous reports HERE.

9. Decrease my number of UFOs

None of the things I finished were really UFOs this past month. But I did get rid of one UFO. I decided it was a quilt I never wanted to finish, and I put the pieces and parts into another scrap quilt, and put the rest of the fabric back in my stash. That’s one way to get rid of them! I’ve also gone over my list, and while I’m not real sure it’s complete, the list currently has 57 UFOs listed. That’s an embarrassing admission right there, folks! I’m not sure I want to “complete” the list before I’ve knocked a few of those off of it first . . .

10. Get back to work on competition quilting

I’ve been using the area I set up. I love it, love how it works, and am so glad I did it. However, the competition quilt has not made it to the top of the table yet. I’m pretty sure it won’t this month, either. But someday soon, I hope.

11. Cultivate my creativity

I seem to have gotten back into the regular wonderful habit of doodling all the time. I keep my book with me everywhere I go, and I use little bits of time that would otherwise be wasted making sketches and notes and drawings and recording ideas that might have gotten lost but for the fact that I was able to capture them right while I was thinking about them. Best habit I’ve built for myself this year! You should try it . . .

I’ll be back in October with another update. For now, I’m off to get to work on some of these things some more . . . Are you living 2011 the way you want?

Published in: on September 13, 2011 at 8:56 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/09/13/live2011-september-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Sounds like you’re making lots of progress to me! I started keeping a daily journal too so thanks for giving me the incentive. Not sure my ’empty nest’ life is that exciting, but I’m writing it down anyway and kicking myself in the pants (hmmm…pretty sure I’m not that flexible) for not doing this for the past 25 years. Added exercise too. DH and I work out a bit separately and then we walk together.Looking forward to seeing your kitchen renovation! This old shed needs some TLC too. Making a bit of progress on sewing too, but ranch duties come first. Cows before quilts! 🙂

  2. As for drinking more water, get a HUUUUUGE glass or water bottle. The more water you have near you, the more likely you are to drink more. But as soon as you are about to run out, you will psychologically slow down so as to not have to go get yourself more. I’m serious. I went to a school with a guy who had a gallon jug with him 24/7. He drank at least 2 gallons per day. If he carried a standard liter bottle, he’d drink less than 1 gallon. You should try it.

  3. Great job — your goals and your accomplishments are awesome. Keep up the great work. Don’t forget that exercising will give you more stamina to do the other things!

  4. You’ve done so well with everything. Wish I could get into the doodling habit. I have about that many UFOs, too. So, I find comfort in the fact that you do, too. Hope all’s well with you.


Leave a Reply

