Necktie Social Crazy Quilt Block Contest Winners

I’m long overdue with getting this posted. Has the suspense been killing you? (I hope not . . .)

The Prairie Moon Quilts Necktie Social Project sponsored a Crazy Quilt Block Contest this summer.

Contestants could order a block kit, make a block, and return it for a chance at prizes. The blocks are being made into quilts that will be sold to benefit various charities. I’ll be posting more about that part later.

Right now I need to let you know that the blocks have been judged. They were judged on the most creative use of the fabrics provided in the kit, and the best use of embellishments, this being a Crazy Quilt contest and all. And I’ve been informed that it was NOT an easy decision. So . . . without further ado, here are the winners:

First Prize

Ira Rosenshtein, from Israel

Amazing use of embellishments of all types. Sequins, findings, lace, charms, embroidery stitches of all types, beads, ribbon . . . truly amazing. Well deserving of the award. Congratulations, Ira!

Second Prize

Deborah Bowers, from Florida

Wonderful bouquet made out of buttons, very nice embroidery, and comes complete with a spider web and the spider! She also managed to dress up the plain necktie fabrics with even more embroidery to liven them up. Very nicely done, Deb — Congratulations!

Third Prize

Heide White, from California

Very nice stitching on this block. Lots of lacy and metallic touches, with beads and buttons for extra texture. Heide also included a spider web with a spider on her block. Spider webs on a Crazy Quilt symbolize good luck. Congratulations, Heide!

Honorable Mention

There were 3 Honorable Mention awards. Amazingly, all three blocks chosen for Honorable Mention were made by one woman: Lynne Leithleiter, from Wisconsin.

The bright, detailed embroidery is what caught the judges’ eye on these. Each block has different flowers and embroidery that liven the blocks up quite nicely. Congratulations, Lynne!

So there you have it. There is more information on the Prairie Moon Quilts web site page for the Necktie Social as well. This is an ongoing project, so keep checking back for more information as it’s added. And if you’d like to help out, we’d love to have your help! Just let me know . . .

Published in: on September 14, 2011 at 4:56 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/necktie-social-crazy-quilt-block-contest-winners/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Congratulations to the winners! Wow, I’m impressed!

  2. Enjoyed seeing these crazy quilt blocks!

  3. Wow, what beautiful work!

  4. I am happy that I participated in this challenge. Just as I figured, the work far outshines my feeble embroidery efforts. Congratulations to all the winners.

  5. Wow! Those are great! I knew you posted the winners because my friend Deb e-mailed me to tell me she won! She entered after she saw me blog about it. I feel embarrassed about the one I sent you after seeing these amazing blocks! I think crazy quilting is not for me! LOL. Can’t wait to see it all put together!

  6. Thank you very much. I am so happy to got first place.
    Ira


Leave a Reply

