PC Update – October 31

I haven’t done a Procrastination Challenge update in quite awhile. I can see right now that I’m going to have to make new rules for myself for next year. What good is a Procrastination Challenge if I can’t even make myself stop procrastinating and participate?

I originally put 10 UFOs I wanted to finish this year on my list. I figured I’d have the list finished by March, and then I could make another list, and finish another 10, and so on and so on, and it would all help me reach my goal of finishing 100 projects this year.

Hmm . . .

I’m still working on the original list of 10. Oh, I’ve finished things, (31 things so far, actually) just not those things. And I have all but 3 of the things on the original list finished. You’d think I could just suck it up and finish those 3 before the end of the year, right? And I just might. Which would surprise even me . . .

Here’s my most recent finish off the list: Stairway to Cat Heaven.

It’s finally done. I started this quilt years ago, thinking I’d give it to my brother, who had a cat. Then his cat died, and he got a dog instead, so that kinda killed that plan.

So then I thought I’d give it to my niece when she had a baby, for her baby to have a drag-around quilt, but when the time came, I wanted to make Baby Max something different.

So I decided I’d donate it to Community Service efforts through my home guild, and was going to go with that plan, but when Victoria put out her urgent plea for even more quilts for the BASICS Quilt Gather, I decided I’d instead donate it to them. My home guild even gave me a quilt to send to BASICS on their behalf as well! And my best friend gave two more, so I have a huge box of quilts to ship off as soon as I get back from Houston.

So . . . this quilt is going to BASICS, and I hope it makes some little cat-loving boy or girl very happy and warm.

And . . . if you can find it in your heart to donate a quilt to BASICS as well, everyone involved with the project would be very grateful for your donation. They are planning a distribution event for the first week of December, so get your quilt to them by the end of November, and it can be given to a family who will appreciate it more than you can guess.

And read this post HERE if you need help getting a quilt finished for BASICS. I still have 2 slots open for free machine quilting service for BASICS quilts, but you need to hurry so that I have time to get them done and shipped to BASICS in time.

Published in: on October 31, 2011 at 5:55 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/10/31/pc-update-october-31/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nice work on the Stairway to Heaven cat quilt, I am sure it will go to a very good home and be very much appreciated! You do such beautiful work!

  2. That is a great finish for a great cause. You should give yourself extra credit for quality rather than worrying about quantity. We all think Shelly is terrific.

  3. How lucky someone will feel to get that beautiful quilt! Don’t worry about finishing what is on the list, just do what you want to when you want to, life is too short.

  4. Wow. You got something off your list. I am so jealous! Good job!


Leave a Reply

