News From the Ranch, Episode 796

As usual, there’s been a lot going on around here. Things never seem to slow down, even if you’re sick, gone, tired, or just plain don’t feel good.

For the moment, I think My Cowboy and I are both faring pretty well, so I’m hoping we stay in this holding pattern for awhile. I’m leaving for Houston Thursday, where I’ll be hooking up with Victoria and Shelly and having an absolute blast. I think my black eye will mostly be gone by then, and My Cowboy has his hand out of the cast, so he’s getting along better now. No, he didn’t break his hand punching me in the eye (even tho he does say I’m the most hardheaded woman he’s ever known)! Kinda made it sound that way, didn’t I?

We’ve been having the usual gorgeous fall weather around here, and my sister, Katy, has been off work recuperating from a recent surgery, so she and I have been doing lots of fun stuff together. (Does it seem like farming is hard on a body? — or is it just us?)

We went to the Des Moines AQS Show for a day, and while there, we saw a booth where a girl was demonstrating knitting scarves with that new ruffledy yarn, so we rushed right home, dug out our knitting needles, and commenced to making ourselves and our daughters some scarves. I made two just alike, one for my daughter, and one for her best friend. Katy made two, one for herself in fall colors, and one for her daughter in blue.

We also visited a quilt show in Marshall, MO. The guild in Marshall hosts a wonderful show every fall, and it’s always worth the almost 2-hour drive to go see it. This time, while there, I got to meet the lovely and talented Dawn Heese, of Linen Closet Quilts. I LOVE her stuff — I want to make it all — but alas, there’s just not enough time!

On the way home, we stopped at Peter’s Market, a wonderful orchard on Highway 65 at Waverly, that carries all sorts of seasonal goodies.

We loaded up the trunk of Katy’s car with boxes of apples and sweet potatoes, for us and all the neighbors. Katy got some jugs of apple cider, too.

Then we went on up the road and passed through Brunswick, and stopped at the little orchard just east of town there.

We got homemade candy, tomatoes, jalapenos, and a bag of turnips. Quite the haul . . . and nary a punkin was purchased! I made Stuffed Jalapenos and Apple Crisp with some of my loot. You can find the recipes here: Prairie Moon Ranch Cookbook.

When she’s not out running around with me, Katy’s working her fingers to the bone on her own farm, and in what spare time she can conjure up, she quilts, too. She used my Lil Cowpokes pattern to make a baby quilt for the son of a friend of hers. (If you’re interested, you can purchase the pattern HERE.) Not only did she make the quilt, but . . .

. . . she made it reversible. This is the back! How adorable is this????

And as if that didn’t keep her busy enough, My Cowboy and I got detained unexpectedly in Nebraska on one of our road trips, and had to stay away longer than we intended, (no, we weren’t arrested) so we imposed upon Katy to do our chores for us. While she was there to do the chores one day, she found this:

It’s a bird’s nest, tiny and completely intact, made entirely of horse hair. It’s amazing. The horse hair is all woven in and around and the nest is perfectly shaped and held together. And it’s not hair from just one of the horses, either. You can see all the different colors of hair from every single one of our horses, so the birds were not discriminatory in who they plucked, evidently!

Katy and I also took a day, joined up with our other two fellow QQB members, Marge and Rose Marie, and went on a QQB field trip to The Hickory Stick, a wonderful quilt shop in Hannibal, MO. While there, I bought this lusciousness:

We ate lunch at LulaBelle’s, and then felt compelled to walk off the meal after eating too much, so we also wandered through a few other shops in the vicinity, one of which was a Chocolaterie Stam shop, featuring gelato and bonbons. We had to have some of each. It’s delicious beyond description.

We usually eat Sunday dinner at Katy’s, and various family members pop in and out, and at 7:00 we settle down to watch old Hee-Haw re-runs. My brother-in-law, Denny, usually goes comatose as soon as Hee-Haw is over and heads to bed, and the rest of us then watch Bridezillas, just to raise our blood pressure.

During last Sunday’s dinner, one of the family members that popped in was Katy’s grandson, Baby Max, who came trick-or-treating dressed as a tiger. Here he’s showing My Cowboy how to be fierce and roar. Just too adorable . . . It’s his first Halloween.

And that’s some of what’s been going on around here. What have you been up to?

Published in: on November 1, 2011 at 7:50 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/11/01/news-from-the-ranch-episode-796/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Gosh, you’ve been just a tad busy, I’d say! Baby Max is perfectly darling!! 🙂

  2. Wow! You have me totally tuckered out just reading what all you have done. Sounds like a lot of fun though! Maybe when my kids are bigger I can road trip up to see you!

    Love your sis’ quilt! Very cute!

    Glad you are feeling well enough to do all that gallivanting around, especially with Houston around the corner…

  3. Sounds like so much fun. Have a good time in Houston!

  4. My you have been busy – you must be a fast knitter to have knit up two scarves already – I love knitting also – what kind of yarn did you use? I love the look of the scarves you made.

  5. Wow. The back of that quilt is amazing.


Leave a Reply

