Houston 2011

It’s hard to blog about a trip like the one I just took, because so much happens, and it’s all so fun, and I’m so busy I forget to take pictures, and how do I pick out just a few things to tell about? Such a quandary . . .

I got there on Thursday afternoon, and hooked up with Victoria right away. She and I spent time browsing through some of the vendors and looking at some of the show. We also swung by the Alliance for American Quilts booth so I could meet everybody and find out what I would be doing and where I needed to be on Friday to help out with the Q.S.O.S. project.

If you haven’t heard about the Q.S.O.S. project, I urge you to go to the Alliance’s web site and read up on it. It’s a wonderful project, and I’m so glad that I volunteered and helped them out with some small piece of it while I had the chance. I got to meet and make several new friends because of it.

A bunch of us went out to dinner one night, and we obviously had a blast!

On Friday, we were joined by our other friend, Shelly.

Shelly had a quilt hanging in the show, so I had to get a picture of her with her quilt.

I was wandering around one day through the vendors, just minding my own business, and ran smack into a group of my friends from home! I didn’t even know they were going to be there! It was fun to see them.

And I suppose you want to see what I bought, right?

Sure you do . . .

I was very well-behaved at the vendors.

I only bought a total of 1 1/2 yards of fabric, so I didn’t do too much damage to my stash report that way. I bought some metallic ink, and can’t wait to play around with it on some fabric to see what I can come up with.

And I bought some rulers for my longarm. I’ve been wanting these for a long time, and I finally gave in and bought them. I know I’ll be glad I did.

See? Very well behaved at the vendors. And really, I spent a lot of time helping out with the Q.S.O.S. project, which was fun, and looking at the quilts in the show. That’s where I really get inspired, and then I can hardly wait to get home and get back to quilting.

So that’s where I am today — home and back to quilting.

Published in: on November 8, 2011 at 4:26 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/11/08/houston-2011/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I wish I had been there to see the “other” Shelly and her quilt. Looks like too much fun. And to say hello to Victoria. Hi! Vic!

  2. Your self control is amazing! I bet that was fun!


Leave a Reply

