Useful Movie Quotes

Quilting Gallery is hosting a Blog Hop Party with give-aways to celebrate their 4th birthday. I thought I’d help out by joining in. Besides, I’m not one to pass up something fun.

By now you’re probably asking, “So, what do Movie Quotes have to do with Quilting Gallery‘s birthday celebration?”

Well, I’ve decided to share some of the more useful movie quotes that My Cowboy and I use here at the ranch all the time with each other. And, yes, we do engage in a lot of laughter around here. It’s pretty constant. And laughter helps celebrate birthdays, so . . .

I thought I’d share our Top Ten favorites, so that you, too, can see if they’d come in just as handy where you live . . . but I couldn’t stop at just ten, so I’ve put our Top Twelve instead.

See if you can guess which movies they’re from! Leave your guesses in the comments. I’ll give a prize to the person who comes closest to getting them all correct. (And keep in mind, we don’t have “real” TV here at the ranch, so we watch a lot of old westerns and comedies on DVD.)

1 ) “I’d do it myself, but I’m feelin’ plumb lazy.”

2 ) “The only chance he’s got atta education is listnin’ ta me talk.”

3 ) “Is you is, or is you ain’t, my con-stitchin-see?”

4 ) “I said I never had much use for one. Never said I didn’t know how to use it.”

5 ) “Needlin’ people is what I do . . .”

6 ) “If you ain’t first, you’re last.”

7 ) “Well, I’ll be a suck-egg mule!”

8 ) “That thar elk is ourn!”

9 ) “What we have here is a failure to communicate.”

10 ) “Do you know who I am? I’m kind of a big deal.”

11 ) “That’s bold talk for a one-eyed fat man.”

12 ) “Some calls it Hell. I call it Hades.”

These may lead you to really wonder about just exactly what goes on around this here ranch in the course of a day, but trust me, we DO use these, and they come in handy every little bit! For example, #4 comes in real handy for me in the kitchen, and I try out #1 all the time; and you can probably guess which of us around here uses #10 the most! There are many many more, but I had to stop somewhere . . .

For your chance at the prize, just leave a comment, numbering your answers according to which movie you think the quote came from — for example: #1 is from ABmovie, #2 is from CDmovie, and so on. (Hint: There might be more than one quote from the same movie, so you can use a movie name more than once, if necessary. And you don’t have to know who said it, just which movie it’s from.)

The person who gets closest to getting them all correct will win the prize. If there’s a tie, I’ll draw a winner at random from all the ones that qualify.

What’s the prize, you ask? Well, that’s sort of a surprise, too. I’m putting together a grab bag with several goodies, including a copy of my latest pattern that I haven’t even revealed yet, some fabric, and some other stuff I’m not telling you about.

The give-away ends on December 17th, at which time I’ll announce the winner, and I’ll also let you know which movies the quotes were from so you can see if you were right. Have fun! And hop over to Quilting Gallery, wish Michele a Happy BlogBirthday, and go visit all the other blogs that are having give-aways in honor of this event. You could win all kinds of goodies!

Published in: on December 9, 2011 at 9:43 am  Comments (39)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/useful-movie-quotes/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

39 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We love old westerns, but I am sorry to disappoint you. I am really lame when it comes to quotes. But I’ll take a stab at the 3 (sad, I know) I think I know: 1. The Rounders 4. Quiggly Down Under 11. True Grit. I looked for something from The Cowboys or The Man From Snowy River, but may have missed it. We watch those a lot. Now you’ll have me listening for these in evey movie we watch. LOL. Not a lot of new, good stuff out there these days.

  2. Tricky, it’s the men that recall movie quotes and most of your readers, I ‘spect, are women folk… However, I know some of these, obviously we have similar tastes in movies, or my hubby, you and the Cowboy do…. I’ll just guess at the rest: 1. The Rounders–Howdy, I think. 2. Lonesome Dove 3. Brother Where art Thou, 4. Quigley 5. NOT SURE…. 6. Talladega Nights 7. John Wayne flick, not sure which… 8. NO IDEA! 9. Cool Hand Luke 10. Anchorman, 11. True Grit (2010), 12. Sling Blade

  3. what great fun, I’m stuck on No 8 but will be racking my brain cos its annoying me now…
    1 The Rounders
    2Lonesome Dove
    3O Brother where art thou
    4 Quigley down under
    5 Monty Walsh
    6 Talledega nights
    7 El Dorado
    8
    9 Cool hand luke
    10 Anchorman the legend of ron burgundy
    11 True Grit
    12Sling blade

  4. I only have a clue about two of them: #9 is from Cool Hand Luke. #11 is from True Grit. I wish my husband were awake; he’d know all of them.

  5. A lot of them seem familiar but i cannot place them and don’t want to cheat by googling them..lol #6 is from talladega nights and i know that because its on tv right now…lol

  6. I love a suprise. Thanks for the generousity!

  7. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art Thou
    4. Quigley Down Under
    5. ?
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. ?
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10. Anchorman
    11. True Grit
    12. Sling Blade

    Much as I got so far, gonna have to do some thinkin! 5 and 8 got me stuck.

  8. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art Thou
    4. Quigley Down Under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny?
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10. Anchorman
    11. True Grit
    12. Sling Blade

    Here we go, updated list, number 8.. I vaguely remember a part like that, so perhaps. That’s me done anyway!

  9. Don’t have a clue about any one of them. Haven’t watched westerns in a long time, but I love to enter contests.

  10. Sadly I know not a one. I’m not a big movie or tv watcher. DH says John Wayne must have uttered at least one, if not more, of these lines.

  11. We repeat some of these at our house, too. Cool Hand Luke and Quigley Down Under made for some good lines! We are worse about Seinfeld quotes, though. There is a Seinfeld quip for nearly every situation in life, and I think my husband knows all of them!

  12. So sorry, I seldom watch movies.. I try the quotes but still not sure where it from.
    Thx for the chance to win ^^v

  13. Hi! I have no idea. 😦
    I use a quote from a movie called ” Muriel’s Wedding” ” You’re terrible, Muriel!”, a lot. 🙂
    and from ” The Castle”- ” Tell them they’re dreamin”
    These are both really good Aussie movies.
    Merry Xmas from Down Under!! Sandy.

  14. #3 is from “Oh Brother, Where Art Thou” and I think #9 is from “Cool Hand Luke”. Could #4 be from “Lonesome Dove”? If you choose a winner by who knew the most, I lose! But cheerfully…

  15. I have never watched a western – I guess that counts me out of the competition but I love movie quotes especially this one from Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves.
    “When I catch you, I will cut your heart out with a spoon”
    “Why a spoon, cousin”
    “because it is blunt, it will hurt more”
    This always makes me smile.
    Thanks for being on the Bloghop, I am really enjoying discovering new blogs.

  16. The only one I would venture to guess on would be #11 as True Grit.

  17. I really don’t know. Our favorite is from Cat Ballou when Lee Marvin sees the candles at the coffin and begins singing ‘Happy Birthday” and then blows them out. We do it for birthdays and then roll around on the floor laughing. Pathetic, I know.

  18. 1- The Rounders
    2- Lonesome Dove
    3- O Brother Where Art Thou
    4- Quigley Down Under
    5- Monty Walsh
    6- Talladega Nights
    7- Rio Lobo
    8- Will Penny
    9- Cool Hand Luke
    10- Anchorman
    11- True Grit
    12- Sling Blade

  19. I can say I do not know from whence these come, hope some one gets them it won’t be me I am at a duh??? moment on this. Haha oh well fun to read this anyway thanks for your input on the hop too.
    quilter000

  20. Gotta ask my cowboy on these. He’ll know them. Be back soon.

  21. Sorry I don’t watch Westerns but I do like surprises!! Thanks

  22. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art Thou
    4. Quigley Down Under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7.El Dorado
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10. Anchorman
    11. True Grit
    12. Sling Blade

  23. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art thou
    4. Quigley down under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10 Anchorman
    11 Tre Grit
    12 Sling Blade
    My husband had to help me with this one and it was also with ahelp from the other commens. this was fun and thanks for a great giveaway

  24. Not a big movie watcher, and when I do I apparently don’t pay that much attention. Didn’t even recognize the True Grit quote until I read someone’s list of movies. Duh! What a cool idea, I’ll be back to ”borrow’ some of these quotes for my life. Hope you’re having fun with the party. 🙂 Quilted blessings, Nita

  25. I don’t have a clue on any of them. Well, maybe one. #9 might be Cool Hand Luke. Can I enter anyway?

  26. Had to have a little bit of help, but I *did* know a few on my own. Thanks for the chance to win (and giving me the urge to pull out some of the movies!). You missed out on putting some of the Sacketts or Conagher on there. 😉
    1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art thou
    4. Quigley down under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10 Anchorman
    11 True Grit
    12 Sling Blade

  27. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art Thou
    4. Quigley Down Under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10 Anchorman
    11 True Grit
    12 Sling Blade

    Thanks 🙂

  28. We didn’t do as well as I would have hoped, here’s what we got: #3 Oh Brother Where Art Thou, #6 Talladega Nights, #9 Cool Hand Luke, #11 True Grit, #12 Sling Blade. Those are the ones we could get without checking other people’s answers. If we had to look at other people’s answers, I didn’t write it above. 🙂

  29. Guess you’ve stumped alot of people. i have heard the quotes just can’t remember the titles

  30. 1. The Rounders
    2. Lonesome Dove
    3. O Brother Where Art thou
    4. Quigley down under
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke
    10 Anchorman
    11 True Grit
    12 Sling Blade

    lnb1191(at)aol(dot)com

  31. Hi, Happy Holiday to You and Yours. I am sorry but I don’t watch movies or much tv but thank you.

  32. Okay…I love westerns but do you think I can come up with a clever answer….NO! I can hear in my head Slim Pickens :0).

  33. Oh Shelley, you’ve really got me laughing. And I don’t have a clue about any except for #9! And actually I think that quote was in other movies as well. Waterworld, Major Payne, Here Comes Garfield, and numerous TV shows. I am a Pride and Prejudice gal, so these are all foreign to me. But it must be so much fun to banter back and forth with your hubby. Have a Merry Christmas!! It sounds like it will be a fun one.

  34. 1. The Rounders-oldies, but goodie
    2. Lonesome Dove- great series
    3. O Brother Where Art thou- love the songs sung in this movie
    4. Quigley down under- gotta love Tom Selleck’s big heart in this one!
    5. Monty Walsh
    6. Talladega Nights- funny movie
    7. Rio Lobo
    8. Will Penny
    9. Cool Hand Luke-love his crystal blue eyes!
    10 Anchorman-another funny one
    11 True Grit-liked the original with John Wayne better
    12 Sling Blade

  35. Don’t have to time & fading memory, but I got quite a chuckle from thinking of who delivered them all. I can see Henry Fonda delivering quite a few of these nicely. Now I’ll have to rent the DVD’s to see.

    Would love if you’d post more to share of your fun quotes! Thanks

  36. Not very good at this. #7 is from True Grit. I’m probably watched the other movies at one time but I just don’t remember the lines.

    lsandes@comcast.net

  37. I grew up watching westerns with my Granny ida! I think I have watched every John Wayne western there is about 100 times each and still love to watch them!

    The young boy in Sling Blade was from Speake, Alabama… about a an hour from where I grew up!

    1 – the rounders, 2 – lonesome dove, 3 – brother where art thou, 4 – quigley down under, 5 – monty walsh, 6 – talledega nights the ballad of ricky bobby, 7 – rio lobo, 8 – will penny, 9 – cool hand luke, 10 – anchor man, 11 – true grit, 12 – sling blade

  38. The only one I know for sure is John Wayne in True Grit #11…what fun…thanks for sharing with us. Happy Holidays.

  39. oh, my. I have no clue…don’t watch movies! 😦 But I commented because I love your picture in the sidebar. It looks just like my sister’s 1st grade picture! Her name is Betty.


Leave a Reply

