Pat Sloan’s Luau

Today I’m at a Luau!

Pat Sloan’s New Year’s UFO-Busting Luau Weekend, to be exact.

She hosted this Luau last year, and I participated, and it helped me get so much done. Just the permission to sew like mad for 3 days was all I needed, I guess (not that I don’t do that every day), but knowing I had partners in crime helped even more.

So when she said she was doing it again, I could hardly wait, and now it’s here!

I’m not much on going out for New Year’s Eve. I much prefer staying in, staying busy, and staying cozy with My Cowboy.

While I’m not real sure what I’ll be eating all weekend because I’m bad at thinking that far ahead regarding food, I am thinking about making these for My Cowboy: Salted Almond Caramels (minus the salt for him).

Then once he sinks into the sugar coma that’s sure to follow, I can retreat to the studio and work on my chosen UFOs for this Luau. Which are, in order of importance:

1 ) Our guild’s raffle quilt

2 ) A commission quilt for Ronald McDonald House’s Red Shoe Gala this year

3 ) My guild challenge quilt for January (which needs to be done by the 9th)

So these will include some machine piecing, some applique, some cutting, a little bit of designing, some instruction writing, and . . . depending on how far I get, some setting together, and possibly some machine quilting. Just the variety I need to keep myself from getting too bored. So off I go.

Are you coming to the Luau? (You really should.)

What will you be working on?

Published in: on December 31, 2011 at 7:31 am  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/pat-sloans-luau/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You’ll have to shimmy in a grass skirt without me. Today is DH’s birthday and tomorrow our boy heads back to Camp Pendelton so no sewing for me. It’ll probably be a few days before my eyes stop leaking tears enough for me to see the stitches. Have fun!

  2. I am joining Pat’s Luau too! Just recently joined Pat’s blog this year, she has a lot of fun things going on.


Leave a Reply

