I’m All Done Luau-ing

Well, I luaued with Pat Sloan for the last 3 days, and I put on a quilting marathon that would make any sweat shop owner proud!

I chose three UFOs to work on:

1 ) Our guild’s raffle quilt

2 ) A commission quilt for Ronald McDonald House’s Red Shoe Gala this year

3 ) My guild challenge quilt for January (which needs to be done by the 9th)

Technically, items 2 and 3 were not UFOs, because I hadn’t even started them yet, but they are now! They have deadlines, and I needed to work on them a lot, so that’s why I chose them.

Some of the help didn’t last too long after we got started Saturday morning . . .

But Big Dan hung in and did Quality Control by checking my pattern for me and keeping me entertained:

Here’s how it all went . . .

1 ) Our guild’s raffle quilt

This is the pile of fabric I was working with — pieces from the Buttercup collection by Fig Tree Quilts for Moda:

This quilt is a medallion quilt, and I finished all the center applique, and set it into a ring of pieced blocks (already made by another committee member) and now I’m all ready to finish the outer applique. Then it gets passed to another committee member to finish, so really I don’t have much more to do. I’m not showing it until it’s all done. I figure it’s not fair for you all to see it before we’ve even shown it to our very own guild members.

2 ) Ronald McDonald House Commission quilt

Every year I get asked to design a quilt for them to raffle off at their annual gala. Here’s the pile I started with — black solid, white solid, and some pieces from the Half Moon collection by Moda:

And I got everything cut out and ready to start sewing:

There’s also some applique on this, and I have my background piece prepared, my pattern designed and traced off, and some fabrics chosen. A real good start! I’ll show you the quilt and tell you more about it when I have it finished.

3 ) January Guild Challenge

We did a fat quarter swap in November. We each brought 5 coordinating fat quarters and came home with someone else’s 5 coordinating fat quarters, with the challenge to make something from them by the January 9th meeting.

Here are my 5 fat quarters (on the left) along with the other pieces I pulled to go with them for what I’m making — some scraps and a few pieces of the Half Moon collection by Moda:

I got it all cut out:

And all my blocks pieced:

All that’s left is setting it together and getting it quilted. The guild has just taken on a local charity project that wants quilts, so I intend to donate it to them when I’m done.

In addition to those, I also worked on another quilt of my own (finished the applique, and made some pieced blocks to go with it), knitted on a scarf for my daughter, longarm quilted one customer quilt and 2/3 of another one, made chocolate chip cookies and a chocolate sheet cake, did chores, did laundry, went to Sunday dinner at my sister’s, and even squeezed in a nap! Whew!

Now I’m all luaued out and completely exhausted! But it was fun, and I got a lot done. Thanks, Pat, for hosting the Luau again! I hope you do it again next year, too . . .

Published in: on January 2, 2012 at 9:45 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/01/02/im-all-done-luau-ing/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Whew, I’m tired just reading about it! I really like the fabrics in your January Guild Challenge. But, as usual, it all looks great!

  2. Well, since “commission” and “competition” both start with “c,” does this count as part of your goal? I think it should, and maybe should give you two points since it is charitable. Just an idea.

  3. well! looks like you got a good jump start! wahoo! hugs to you and cowboy!

  4. super!!! love the Black and white

  5. I love the picture of Big Dan. It’s good to have a quality control expert available at all times 🙂 Very pretty fabrics.


Leave a Reply

