It’s the Little Things . . .

The many, many little things My Cowboy does for me every single day . . .

Aside from always making me laugh, sometimes even when I don’t want to, he takes really good care of me. Furthermore, he’s very observant, and pays attention — meaning that half the time, he knows what I want or need before I even do! I hope he keeps me around awhile longer . . .

And it also doesn’t hurt that he looks so good in a cowboy hat and spurs.

Having lived alone a lot, he’s perfectly capable of taking care of himself. He can cook, clean, do laundry, handle all the chores, and anything else that comes up at any time. He’s also perfectly capable of taking care of me. And here’s what he did yesterday, just in one day:

He worked a few hours in the morning, then when he got home . . .

He did a load of laundry.

He went grocery shopping and got everything we’ll need for the week.

He put gas in my truck.

He went to the feed store.

He worked another few hours in the afternoon.

He did evening chores all by himself, AND unloaded all the feed.

And helped me fix supper. Because . . .

We had a pork tenderloin to cook, and I couldn’t decide what to do with it, so he made up his own recipe and told me how to do it. And it was so easy and so melt-in-your-mouth delicious, that I feel compelled to share the recipe with you now. I’m calling it:

Hoss ‘n’ Pepper

(How’s that for a horrific play on words?)

Here’s how to make it . . .

You’ll need a pork tenderloin and a can of Coke.

Pour the Coke into the bottom of a roasting pan, and lay the tenderloin in it.

Rub the tenderloin with olive oil, and then sprinkle it with coarse ground pepper and coarse ground sea salt, making almost a crust out of it.

Cover it with foil, and put it in the oven at 350 degrees. After 15 minutes, remove the foil cover. Continue baking for 30 minutes, then turn it over, and sprinkle it with more pepper and sea salt. Continue baking till done, another 20-30 minutes or so, depending on how large your roast is. Slice it and eat it . . . yummy!

I made Homemade Mashed Taters to go with ours.

After supper, I asked My Cowboy if he would help me arrange some quilt blocks on the design wall, really meaning, “I want you to do it, and I’m not planning to help you.”

Amazingly, he agreed! And he set to work getting them all just right.

Who knew that arranging a setting required so many curse words? And it was way more entertaining for me than doing it myself! But now I’m wondering if he’ll ever do it again. It may have been too stressful . . .

But he did a great job and my guild challenge quilt top is all finished, thanks to his help. I’ll show it to you in another post after I get it quilted.

Just before bed, he remembered that he had collected the day’s mail at one point, so he came to the studio door with it and slid it across the floor. When I looked at it laying there, he grinned and said: “I just like watching you bend over to pick it up.” Cowboys!

Published in: on January 4, 2012 at 3:19 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/its-the-little-things/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your cowboy! I can’t wait until I have time to follow the link you put up to read through his comments…. I’ve been needin’ a tummy-aching laugh session!!!

  2. I think this is so cute, love hearing about your day and your cowboy, he is a keeper for sure! 🙂

  3. Actions speak louder than words, sometimes….

    And those “actions” are called “love”.

    My hunny rarely tells me, in words, what he feels…. but he’s constantly showing me…. *grin*

    Rosa

  4. Congratulations! It looks like you’ve found the kind of guy readers of romance novels create. Good for you….and him!

  5. Ah, that’s neat that he does such things for you. 🙂 LOL on that last comment!

  6. AWWW! Tell Cowboy he just scored points with a whole LOAD of QUILTERS!!!! He’s a keeper! 😉 Say Hi. Miss you guys

  7. I love this guy. I really need to meet him!

  8. And the little things can be big things, if you ask me.


Leave a Reply

