Playing at Home

I’m very blessed to be able to say I work at home. Quilting is my full-time job. That right there is the best thing in the world to me.

In case you didn’t know, it’s very difficult to work at home. I spent most of last year struggling with schedules and lists and trying and tweaking to make the most of my time and be productive. I’m not there yet.

Working at home, I can find a million things to pull me away from the actual work . . . laundry, dishes, cleaning, snacking, cooking, napping, or going outside to hang out with the animals or enjoy the weather. Or, spending too much time on the computer.

Plus, I’m free to pick up and take off somewhere at a moment’s notice, so when someone calls me up and asks if I want to go somewhere with them, it’s real easy to just drop everything and take off.

Is it because the work is something I love and would be doing anyway? Maybe a little bit of guilt because my “job” is so darn fun?

And then there’s that adage: “If you keep doing what you’ve always done, you’ll keep getting what you’ve always got.” Something has to change drastically, if I want this year to be drastically better than last year.

So . . . I woke up bright and early Monday morning, and laid out a new schedule for myself. It’s pretty strict, yet very flexible, and I’m having to pay a lot more attention to which projects need my attention at which point, in order to meet all my deadlines.

I’m pretending that my studio is off-site, so I can’t sneak back in the house to do laundry or take a nap. I’m at work!

No more procrastination. No more only doing the fun parts and ignoring the more difficult things until they become crisis level.

This is Day 3 . . .

My timer has once again become my best friend.

It being the first of a new year, motivation is high.

I’m hoping that a lot of this becomes habit before that motivation wanes any.

Or better yet, that my motivation just doesn’t do any waning at all.

Wish me luck . . .

Published in: on January 4, 2012 at 11:45 am  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/01/04/playing-at-home/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. You have a great plan, and… you can do it!

  2. I wish you lots of luck. My sister is a full-time artist/painter. Her studio is in her home and the framing is done there too by her husband. (You might like her work actually as she specializes in horses and dogs. I can email you a link to her site if you want.) But she’s often said how difficult it is, with definite perks and disadvantages. It takes a lot of self discipline.
    I think you are too hard on yourself though. I’m always amazed at how much you accomplish!

  3. Two bits of advice….

    #1 – FOCUS and STICK TO YOUR PLAN or OBJECTIVE, until it’s done !!!!

    I find it’s SOOOO easy to get side tracked…. not just at home, either!

    #2 – MAKE a PLAN…. a SCHEDULE…. an AGENDA… and STICK TO IT !!!

    Now, for example….

    When are you more creative? Let’s say its in the morning, for example.

    Let yourself “play” in your quilting room or whatever. Afternoon, from 1 till 4 p.m….. work on cleaning or renovating or whatever yucky chores you can think of. And STICK TO THE PLAN !!!!

    If you had an 8 to 5 job, you’d HAVE to FOCUS and STICK TO THE PLAN (do your work, in other words)…. right?!?!?

    Okay…. I’ll get off my ladder, for now.

    (I don’t use a stool… I’m only 4 ft 11 inches and I really DO need a ladder, if I’m gonna make a speech… LOL)

    Rosa

  4. Wishing you Luck!

  5. That’s a great plan and I’ll be cheering you on! I’m thinking you accomplished an awful lot last year. Did you keep a list of all you DID do? Here’s to a more productive 2012 for all of us! You’re right though, being home comes with many distractions…off to set gates for the guys who are bringing in cattle. 😉


Leave a Reply

