A Challenge Complete

Every other month, my modern guild offers the members a challenge.

In November, we did a fat quarter swap. Everyone who wanted to participate brought 5 coordinating fat quarters, and we went home with someone else’s 5 coordinating fat quarters.

The challenge was to use fabric you wouldn’t normally buy or use to make something. You had to use at least some of each one of your fat quarters.

We had to have our project done for the January meeting, which was last night.

At the December meeting, it was announced that our guild has adopted a charity project, and they will take lots of different things, such as pillowcases, fleece blankets, and quilts (up to lap size).

So I decided to make my challenge project into something I could also donate to the charity project.

I found this pattern . . .

. . . in this magazine . . .

and gathered up these fabrics. (My 5 original fat quarters are the ones on the left.)

The pattern called for making 2 different blocks, but I chose to only make one of them, and then turn it as I alternated them. This made it easier for me to cut, without quite so much thinking, since yes, I didn’t start until New Year’s Eve, and I was getting short on time! So unlike me, right?

I got the blocks done, and then swindled My Cowboy into arranging them on the design wall for me. THAT was the entertaining part. Before it was over, he made a request: “Next time you get ready to sew a bunch of pieces together, consult me first!”

I think he did a great job! And guess who I swindled into holding it up so I could take a picture? See his boots peeking out from under? . . .

Published in: on January 10, 2012 at 3:52 pm  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/a-challenge-complete/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Good job to both you and your cowboy! 🙂

  2. A great quilt for a great cause with great help! And I like your fabrics very much.

  3. That turned out very nicely. And, tell your cowboy he might have a future in quilt modeling.

  4. Cute, Shelly! I like it. I like the colors and those Black and Whites are nice. Cute boots. LOL.


Leave a Reply

