Aunt Dorothy’s Quilt

One day late last summer, my cousin, Tamara, gave me bits and pieces of two quilts, and asked me if I would finish them for her.

They have special meaning because the quilts were started by her grandmother, my great-aunt Dorothy, and Tamara came by them when things from Aunt Dorothy’s estate were parceled out after her passing.

Tamara has two daughters, Sophia and Elise, and wants each of them to have one of the quilts as a keepsake from their great-grandmother. So I agreed to finish them for her, and we discussed the options.

The first one was an Improved 9-Patch, and we both agreed that the edges needed something more, and that it really deserved to be hand quilted, since it had been hand pieced. I showed its before pictures HERE. After adding the additional melons around the edges (by hand), I passed the quilt on to my Amish friend, Edna, who did a wonderful job of hand quilting it.

It’s not huge, just twin size, measuring approximately 70″ x 80″.

Here are some close-ups of Edna’s quilting:

Don’t you just love these old fabrics?

Especially this “goblet” print?

Here’s what the back looks like.

Since there was so much of the solid blue used in the blocks themselves, I chose that same blue solid for the binding, and finished it up and delivered it to Tamara. She was thrilled with how it turned out and very glad to have it back in a usable state. I didn’t wash the quilt, even though I think it could use a gentle washing; I left that part up to Tamara.

The second quilt? It’s an Irish Chain with some “extras”, and is made out of some unusual materials. I’m working on it and should have it done next week, so I’ll be back to show it to you when it’s finished.

Published in: on February 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/02/12/aunt-dorothys-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Shelly — could you email me privately? I’m wondering about having a quilt hand-quilted — curious about cost and usual time to complete.

  2. I love how this quilt turned out and the old fabrics have such character to them. What a treasure!

  3. Shelly, I love that quilt! Can’t wait to see the other one. I bet your cousin is thrilled.

  4. Wow! That is really great! I love the fabrics, design, and quilting. What a treasure!!! Very cool!

  5. Wow! That’s very special hand quilting!

  6. That is great – love the goblet print!

  7. Love this quilt! I’m like you, I get a kick out of seeing the different old materials. The quilting is nice. Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to the other one, too. 🙂

  8. What a treasure and your collaboration is certainly a cause for celebration – beautiful job!


Leave a Reply

