Today I . . .

Slept in till 7:15. (My first mistake.)

Made the bed.

Helped My Cowboy with morning chores.

Fed the baby calf his bottle.

Did not fix breakfast. (Sleeping in affords no time for such things.)

Made a pot of coffee.

Ripped out some quilting I didn’t like on a customer quilt so I could start over.

Made lunch for me and My Cowboy.

Doctored the cat. (No small feat, I assure you. It took both of us to get the job done.)

Helped My Cowboy tack up his horse so he could go work cattle.

Fed the baby another bottle.

Missed the funeral of an old family friend because I didn’t find out until 1:30 that the service was at 2:00, which left me no time to get ready and get there. (My second mistake.)

Made dessert to take to my sister’s for supper tonight.

Did the dishes.

Started a load of laundry.

Swept the floors.

Finally got to quilt a little bit. (It’s a good thing longarms are high-speed machines.)

Made a second pot of coffee. Decaf. (My third mistake.)

When My Cowboy swung back by to drop off his horse so they could haul cattle, I untacked Chip for him.

Groomed Chip, the Wonder Horse.

Put all the tack away.

Fed all the horses.

And the cows.

And the dogs.

And the cats.

Gave the baby another bottle.

Turned the horses out.

Closed up the barn for the night.

Trekked to the mailbox to check the mail. (It was all bills, naturally.)

Put the laundry in the dryer.

Trimmed the quilted quilt so I can put the binding on.

Managed to finally find time to take a shower.

Forgave myself for not getting on the treadmill today. (Actually, I had this done by 8:00 this morning!)

Folded the laundry.

Made the binding and sewed it to the quilt.

Went to my sister’s for supper. (Late, because My Cowboy had not one, but two, separate incidents of tires blowing out on his livestock trailer today while hauling cattle. He’s lucky like that.)

Ate too much.

Chatted some.

Read the newspaper.

Laid plans for tomorrow.

Thanked God for every second in this day of my life.

And now, I’m exhausted.

I’m hittin’ the hay.

‘Cause chances are, at least half this stuff will have to be done again tomorrow!

And maybe this explains why my kitchen remodel still isn’t finished after 6 months . . . hmm . . .

I need to stop sleeping in . . .

Published in: on February 22, 2012 at 9:09 pm  Comments (11)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/02/22/today-i/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

11 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can’t imagine why you don’t get more done! After reading what all you have done today, now I’m tired too. I don’t think the sleeping in part is the problem, it’s trying to do too much in one day and part of that is just farm life. Hope you get a good nights sleep and you’re right…..most of it you have to do over tomorrow.

  2. Whew! I think it is time for someone to go to bed. I am tired just thinking about all you did.

  3. You kill me. You get so much done. You are amazing. I love this “day-in-the-life” post. I’m off to Ypsilanti for another conference tomorrow. But at least Lloyd and Elsa get to come with me on this one. I’m not presenting, but my students are, so I want to go and be there for them. ๐Ÿ™‚ Coming back on Friday. No more conferences now until April. Sigh. Ahhhhh. Hope you get to sleep in tomorrow. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’m sorry you missed that funeral, but I think you are too hard on yourself! You get so much done, and so much of it is beautiful!

  5. Okaaaaay…. you’ve just burst my dream bubble!!!

    I “was” really, really envious of you – since I gotta haul (big) butt outta bed every day to go to an office…. but that was until I read your post.

    Gurrrl… you work a LOT harder than me AND you get a lot done in quilting and other stuff, too!!!!

    WOW!!! never mind Chip the Wonder Horse…. you’re MY Wonder Woman!!!! *grin*

    Rosa

  6. OMG! What a day you have had, hope you slept well last night. Like the others have said, got a feeling most of those things will be on your agenda for today also. It was a beautiful day here by us yesterday, got to lower 70’s, I could not resist doing some yard work, I thought I was doing good by getting that done and the animal chores, but after reading your post, now I am not too sure. ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a nice day today!

  7. That is so a farmer’s life, when 7:15 is sleeping in! Makes me think of my grandpa… Hope tomorrow’s a better one. And I have no doubt that doctoring the cat was the most challenging task of the day. and, oh yeah, this list makes me feel like a slug.

  8. Wow!! You are super busy. I think you can forgive yourself for missing day on the treadmill. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Fun post! I love peeking into other’s days. I’m nosy like that. ๐Ÿ™‚ I think someone has earned a day off. I know, you’re laughing. After reading your list, I’ve been inducted into the slacker club.Sweet dreams!

  10. Ha ha! So like a farmer/rancher’s life! And yes, you have to get out of bed and do it again tomorrow…and the day after that…..

    Sorry about the blown tires! That really puts a monkey wrench into a day for your cowboy.

    Get some sleep…and rest!

  11. That’s what I’d call a FULL day!


Leave a Reply

