Western Star Pincushion

UPDATE: Since Riley Blake’s redesign to their new website, the links to their older tutorials are no longer active.  You can download the tutorial for the Western Star Pincushion HERE.

I’m very honored that I’m being allowed to participate in Riley Blake’s Pincushion Club.

Each Friday, a new pincushion tutorial is featured, for a total of 52 free pincushion tutorials this year. Like my Grandma would say: “If you can’t find one you like in all that, you ain’t got no one to blame but yourself!”

Well, today it’s finally my turn, and I’m presenting this Western Star pincushion.

My pincushion features the new “Saddle Up” fabric line designed by Samantha Walker. Appropriate for someone like me, right?

I’ve used fabrics from every one of her western lines so far, and I love them all! This one is no exception. (Big surprise, huh?)

I mention in the tutorial that I made those stickpins for my pincushion so I could separate my pins and needles into sections, and that I’d show you how to make them.

So I’m here right now to do that very thing. If you’re interested in making some stickpins for your ownself, read on . . .

I’m not a scrapbooker, but you’d never be able to tell it by the collection of scrapbook paper I have. It’s just that I use the papers for other things besides scrapbooking. And it’s like fabric — I like to have some of each one, so naturally, I have a stash!

My stickpins are one of the projects I used some of my paper for. I had some western papers that had motifs on them suitable for cutting out.

I used a light-colored paper for the side I wanted to write on, so the writing would show up.

So here’s what you’ll need:

Scrapbooking paper or other paper of your choice that you can cut some motifs out of. You could just draw circles or stars or any other shape you want onto any colored paper to match your theme.

Flower-head straight pins.

Glue and scissors (that you can cut paper with).

First, I cut out (widely) around the shape — in this case, the star. I cut a piece from the light paper roughly that same size.

Then I matched them up, wrong sides together, and cut them out on the true cutting line only in the area where I wanted the pin to emerge.

Separate them again, and smear the back side of the top piece with glue.

Put the head of the flower-head pin in place, then sandwich it between the two pieces, wrong sides together, matching them up like before.

After the glue has dried, finish cutting out the shape . . .

. . . and then write on the light-colored side whatever you wish it to say.

They’re ready to use!

You could also take this idea and instead of pins, use flat toothpicks, and you’d have some cute cupcake decorations.

Use bigger motifs and bamboo skewers, and make plant pokes for your herb garden, or make one to stick in a flower arrangement for a friend as a “Thank You” or “Get Well” message.

So that’s it . . . I hope you’ve enjoyed my tutorials.

Thanks so much for visiting!

Published in: on March 22, 2012 at 11:59 pm  Comments (9)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/03/22/riley-blakes-pincushion-club/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Very cool!!

  2. I absolutely love your pincushion and I find you can never have too many pincushions! I always have one at the machine, cutting table, by my chair in the living room, etc. They are all over the place around here. In fact, my daughter even got me a couple antique ones. Thanks also for the stick pin directions, what a wonderful idea you came up with!

  3. I love your pincushion Shelly! I have quite a few pincushions, I am sure more than I really need, but that hasn’t stopped me yet from making yet another. I also love the idea for the stick pins!

  4. Pincushions! A new possible addiction. Thank you for the tip.

  5. Love this! You are good at EVERYTHING!

  6. Okay, first of all, your pincushion is totally adorable. I love it! The fabrics are awesome, too. I’m going to have to make one. Second, your little pins are super cute and what a great idea! Thanks for the little tutorial on those. This is really great, Shelly!

  7. Love the your star pincushion, thanks for sharing.

  8. Perfect timing! I’m on a pincushion making spree and I love, love, love this one! I’ve sure got a lot of your projects on my list! I even created a Shelly box! If the wind ever stops blowing, I’ll get pictures of that quilt I want to send you. I have to cook for cowboys and the vet today. Think they would mind if they had a darling pincushion at their place setting instead of vittles?

  9. tHANKS FOR THE TUTOIAL ON THE LEAF AND THE ROUND CIRCLE. hAVING A LOT OF TROUBLE WITH A LARGE QUILT WITH LOTS OF APPLIQUE TO FINISH. aPPRECIATE YOUR METHODS. And you can’t have too many pincushions!


Leave a Reply

