350 Blocks Project, Week 10

I did pretty good this week on a wider variety of blocks.

Here’s this week’s blocks . . .

Monday’s block: “S” block

Our Modern Guild challenge for February. It was Donna’s turn to offer the block challenge, and she chose an alphabet quilt. I took the “S”, because it’s my initial, blissfully forgetting that it was paper foundation piecing, which I don’t like, and the “S” had lots of pieces. I should have taken “I” or “H” or something . . . Anyhow, I made it just fine, altho I already wish I’d chosen different fabrics. I don’t think it shows up like it should. We were supposed to match our fabric to our letter, and I had this “saddle” fabric I wanted to use . . . live and learn . . .

If you’re interested in the alphabet quilt, you can get the block patterns HERE.

Tuesday’s block: Mexican Star

Another Modern Guild challenge block. This is Jackie’s March challenge block, from an Eleanor Burns BOM. Jackie is a certified Quilt-in-a-Day instructor! We were supposed to use dark blue for the center cross part, and the rest was up to us.

Wednesday’s block: Bouquets for Hazel, Block 1

This is the alternate Block 1 I made for the Bouquets for Hazel Quilt-Along I’m hosting on my other blog. You know, the one about my mother’s diary . . .

Thursday’s block: Guild strip challenge

Each year, my other guild (not the modern one), offers a yearly challenge. This year’s challenge involved lots of 2 1/2″ strips, and I’ll be writing an entire ‘nother post on exactly how it worked and what we did when I get my quilt closer to finished. But I’ve been working on mine, and this is one of the blocks. And yes, they’re all different, because I can rarely stand doing the same thing twice. It’s an ADD thing . . .

Friday’s block: More tiny HSTs

Saturday’s block: Even more tiny HSTs

Still no plan, so I still can’t tell you more, but the pile is growing, so maybe soon . . .

And that’s all I did this week. No progress on any of my real BOM projects. Sometime I’m gonna have to get crackin’ on those . . .

My count is now up to 111 blocks for the year. Woohoo! I can hardly believe there’s this one thing I’m not behind on . . .

How are you doing on your blocks for the year?

Published in: on March 26, 2012 at 9:17 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/350-blocks-project-week-10/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Woohoo! I caught up to you this week…

    http://zanasninis.blogspot.com/2012/03/blocks-94-121.html

  2. I’ve had some alphabet blocks that don’t have enough contrast, too, but I’m going to use them anyway. At the present time, I’m planning to make an alphabet quilt for myself. I thought I could easily find some buggy insect themed fabric this weekend, but I guess bugs are out of favor in the fabric world right now. Oh, well. There are plenty more letters to make. I like your alternate block 1 for Bouquets for Hazel.

  3. Okay, let’s hear it for the technically and mentally handicapped here! My camera no longer wants to talk to my computer. And I forget to mark on the calendar the blocks that I am doing. As usual, I muddle along but can not document what I actually get done. But trust me! A quilt falls off the blade of the snowplow every once in a while. All finished and quilted and bound – even sporting a label. Otherwise I can’t tell you what I am doing!

  4. Wow. I love that Mexican block and your applique block. I also like all the half-square triangles and can’t wait to see what you do with them. I love your “live and learn” lesson. I feel like quilting and fabric/color selection is always like that for me. A journey of discovery.


Leave a Reply

