The Strangeness of Time

Wednesday morning, at 9:40 am, I pulled up in front of my daughter’s house in my truck.

Thursday morning, at 9:35 am, I pulled up in front of my daughter’s house in her car.

My truck was there waiting for me.

A lot can happen in 24 hours . . .

I woke up Wednesday morning on the quiet farm, did chores, talked to all the animals. The sun was shining.

Three hours later I was in the city, on my way to an even bigger city with my daughter. We were headed to St. Louis.

Her sister, the doctor, was flying in from LA, and we were all meeting up to spend some time together at the beginning of their vacation.

In so little time, I had transported myself from our dirt road and sprawling countryside, where it’s just us and the animals . . . to traffic, tall buildings, and people everywhere.

And choices! I get a bit overwhelmed in the city. There are just so many “things”. Foods we don’t have around here; stores I’ve never even heard of; options, options, everywhere.

And everything moves so fast, like it’s all one big race.

I have to admit it makes me a bit nervous, but my daughters are city girls to the core, and professional travelers, so I was in good hands.

And we had a lot of fun.

We shopped at a large mall.

We stayed at a very nice hotel.

We stayed up really late.

We got up really early.

Then we went back to the airport, and they both said goodbye to me, and embarked on an overseas vacation.

And just like that, I was on my own again.

Twenty-four hours later, I was back where I started from.

I came home to the quiet farm, did chores, talked to the animals. The sun was shining.

And it feels like it was all a dream. Transported to another place and time and back again. So surreal. Did it really happen?

I’m sure it did . . . because my daughters are still on a plane somewhere over the ocean . . . being transported to yet another place and time.

By 9:30 Friday morning, they’ll be halfway around the world, and I’ll be back at work in my studio . . .

I wonder where we’ll all be at 9:30 Saturday morning?

Isn’t time a strange thing?

Published in: on April 20, 2012 at 12:40 am  Comments (4)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/the-strangeness-of-time/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Tell me about it! When you’re stuck in the office and watching the hand of “time” go by….. you only wished it could drink some kind of energy drink, to help it along! LOL

    Tks for sharing, my friend!

    I don’t always comment, but I do always read (and enjoy)! *s*

    Rosa Robichaud
    robich@rogers.com

  2. Time is a strange thing and sometimes slips away from us way too fast. I am orginally from a big city back in Wisconsin and now live in a small, rural town in Arkansas. So going back home seems always fast paced for me and when we return home I always enjoy the peaceful, quietness of our little farm and roosters crowing at 4am, lol! Love the country life!

  3. I’ve been contemplating the very same thing lately. With our son in Afghanistan I can’t figure out how time can move so quickly, yet stand still at the same time. Glad you had a support group during your city adventure. I always feel like the country mouse when I go to the city. Hope your girls have a fabulous time!

  4. Sounds like fun. I’ll be getting ready for an autism walk about that time on Saturday!


Leave a Reply

