At The Quilt Show

My sister and I went to the AQS Show in Paducah last week.

The entire time we were there, I never took a single picture. In fact, I never even had the camera out of its case at all. Yes, something is just wrong with me.

We visited the vendors and exhibits at the Robert Cherry Civic Center, made a first run through Hancock’s, and went through the vendors at the mall.

We spent an entire day at the Convention Center and The Bubble, looking at the quilts, and shopping the vendors.

We got together with some friends from home who were also down there to have breakfast one morning. We like to fuel up with an overly large breakfast so we don’t have to stop for lunch, then have Boy Scout’s Strawberry Shortcake for a snack to hold us till we decide to eat dinner somewhere.

We shopped the vendors downtown, went to Eleanor Burns’ Quilt In a Day Quilt Shop, did lots of walking, and had lots of fun. We even got rained on a little bit, but it didn’t matter.

I got all my scissors sharpened by none other than Scissors Man himself. They were in bad need of it, too.

I was standing in an aisle, waiting for my sister to finish browsing a booth, and who should walk by, but my friend, Michele, from quilt guild at home! She had ridden a tour bus down for the day. This is not the first time I’ve randomly run into Michele at a major quilt show, either . . . maybe we need to start coordinating schedules.

And I also got to meet Pat Sloan in person finally, and we chatted for a bit. She’s even more adorable in real life!

The kind folks at Urban Elementz were handing out goodies. I got a free ruler, and a tattoo for Ivy:

My sister bought me this book. I’m currently working on a very detailed quilt that has . . . you guessed it . . . Hand Applique with Embroidery. I kept picking the book up and putting it back, and after taking way too long trying to decide to buy it or not, she took matters into her own hands. As she stated it: “I’m not gonna have you ruining that quilt just because you didn’t buy that book!”

And we made one last run through Hancock’s on our way out of town, and I bought this fabric for a new project:

On our way home, we stopped at an enormous antique mall, and I found this:

It had to come home with me to be quilted and finished. I’m excited to get to practice some custom quilting on it, and I’ll be showing you that when I get it done.

My sister and I also chose a pattern that we are going to make together, and this trip, we chose “Medallion Melody” by Lori Smith. We both love every pattern that Lori Smith has ever designed, and have already made a couple. I’m excited to get to work on mine. When I do, I’ll show you . . .

And that’s about it. We had a good time, but it’s also good to be back home and back to work in the studio. I have a lot to get done in the next 6 weeks!

Published in: on April 30, 2012 at 2:32 pm  Comments (6)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/at-the-quilt-show/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

6 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I so envy you getting to meet Pat Sloan, I so enjoy her and have made a few of her patterns! Sounds like all in all you had a wonderful time, one of these years I am going to go, it is on my bucket list, lol!

  2. Looks like you had fun in Paducah! Love the Medallion Melody too! Did you know Lori lives only miles from here (and Gruber’s) and came to our guild once? What talent!!

  3. Sounds like y’all had a ball! Doesn’t sound like y’all caused any trouble though. Hmmm. Should we worry? Careful of those scissors now. 🙂

  4. Sounds like you had a great time! Too busy having fun to take photos. That’s when you KNOW you’re having fun! That antique was a great find! Can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  5. My sister in law and I were signed up to go to Paducah again this year, but about a month out, we realized that my Mother in Love was declining rapidly. We cancelled our room and decided to stay home. It was a good thing, as my dear MIL passed on April 17th. We are hoping to make it back to Paducah next year. We might even find our way to Houston this year 😉

  6. I took a lot of pics. Happy to share. Was a nice surprise running into you. I did buy a tj lane thimble– on my 3rd visit to the booth. Glad I did. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.


Leave a Reply

