Day and Night

A couple weeks ago, I quilted a quilt for my friend, Rose Marie.

She calls this quilt “Day and Night”, and it’s a pattern from the book “Pink Lemonade & Other Delights: 10 Refreshing Quilt Projects” by Linda Johnson.

Rose Marie told me to do something custom to it, whatever I wanted. Always both fun and scary for me . . . I’m never sure if what I choose to do will be what the customer likes.

For this quilt, I decided to use 3 different thread colors: black on the black border, pink on the pink and black 9-patches, and yellow in the yellow blocks.

Here are some pictures of what I did to it . . .

The front:

I did a Pam Clarke-style flower in each 9-patch block. In the yellow blocks that had applique, I outlined the flower, then stippled what was left of the background.

In the plain yellow blocks, I did a frame with circles in the middle, and a flower inside the frame.

A close-up of a yellow block:

The back:

More of the back:

In the black border, I quilted one-sided feathers in the scallops around the edges, then used triple lines to fill in the background between the feathers and the blocks. I outlined the applique that was in the border.

You can’t really see that I used 3 different colors of thread . . . but I will say it was very brave (or maybe stupid) of me to quilt with black thread on a white backing, as it is very unforgiving. Every little backtrack seemed to stick out like a sore thumb!

Rose Marie and her husband, George, came to pick it up from me one afternoon. George is helping her hold it, and he looks as proud as if he’d made the quilt himself!

Published in: on June 6, 2012 at 6:48 pm  Comments (8)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/day-and-night/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

8 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your quilting is just awesome Shelly. Beautiful quilt.

  2. Shelly, way to go. It’s gorgeous! Black on the white WAS brave! And I think it looks good!

  3. Absolutely gorgeous, Shelly! I love the black border and yes, black on white is brave (but at least the white was on the back and not the front!).

  4. I love, love, love my quilt. And George couldn’t possibly be as proud as I am, although he really is a great support quilter. He even has a badge that he can wear at quilt shows saying he is part of the Official Support Crew!!

  5. Wow!!! Shelly, you did a great job on the quilting!! The quilt is gorgeous!

  6. Beautiful quilt! I love nine-patch quilts. Love all your quilting on this but especially enjoyed seeing the straight line quilting with alternating triple lines. I saw similar features so often on quilts I saw in the South.

  7. Beautiful quilting Shelly! I think your choices were just perfect for this quilt. I especially like the border quilting.

  8. Your quilting is exquisite! Love the quilt, too.


Leave a Reply

