Springtime in Paris

The theme for my guild’s 27th Annual show this past weekend was “Springtime in Paris”.

We decorated with little vignettes all throughout the show area, each containing items with a French flair, such as a white wrought-iron patio table with a wire basket holding a loaf of French bread sitting next to a bottle of French wine, or hat boxes and draped toile. We tried to put little French touches throughout the space.

Early in the planning stages, we even decided our raffle quilt could match our theme. So I designed a medallion quilt that has some piecing and some applique, and we chose soft, springlike colors, and came up with “Springtime in Paris”, the quilt!

I’ve turned “Springtime in Paris” into a pattern, so if you really love this quilt, you can now make one for yourself!

The pattern comes with full-sized applique templates, and complete instructions for making the 86″ x 86″ quilt as shown. We used the “Buttercup” line by Joanna Figueroa of Fig Tree Quilts by Moda for our quilt, along with Moda Bella Ivory solid for the background.

My committee members worked hard to see this quilt finished. Rose Marie pieced the 64 blocks needed for the setting. I did the applique, and set it all together, Marsha provided the backing and batting and did the binding on the finished quilt, and Bonnie HAND QUILTED it for us!

I’d love to see it done in some richer colors with toiles, or even a black and white version.

When I showed the completed top to My Cowboy, I asked him if it looked spring-like, and he said: “Yeh, and it looks all French, too. It’s got them La Fleurs all over it!” So I guess we met our goal of making it look like “Springtime in Paris”, if even a cowboy can guess!

The pattern is available in either a printed version, or as a PDF file, and is available now in my Etsy Shop.

However, as usual, I’m giving away two copies of the pattern here on my blog to celebrate the design’s debut. All you have to do to enter is leave a comment on this post before noon on Saturday. I’ll draw for two winners on Saturday, June 9th.

Published in: on June 6, 2012 at 8:03 am  Comments (15)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/springtime-in-paris/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

15 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Oooooh… I could see this quilt in yellows and blues!!!

    Pls add my name to your contest!

    Tks!

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, NB
    Canada
    robich@rogers.com

  2. Beautiful quilt! You all did a fantastic job on it and it definitely looks French!

  3. oooH I’m signing on for a chance to do it in black and white. If I don’t win am ordering it. Thanks for the chance it’s a beautful quilt and I’m sure was a highlight at your quilt show!

  4. I’m slowing venturing into applique and this looks ‘doable’ for a beginner — i.e. large pieces. It’s a great quilt, and I’d love to have a chance to make it.

  5. Wow, Shelly! It’s so gorgeous. I didn”t know YOU designed it! You are so talented! Way to go! Did you raise a lot of money?

  6. That’s an amazing design!! I really like the colors that you chose for it, but it would be fun to see it in the different color schemes. It always amazes me how different the same patterns look when done in different colors.

  7. I wondered if you designed that when I saw it on your previous post. It’s beautiful! Great job!

  8. 86 inches is a nice size. The quilt is beautiful!

  9. Tres belle, Mademoiselle Shelly. Great spring colors and I love the design.

  10. Another beautiful design! I wish I had your talent!
    Tamara

  11. What a beautiful quilt! I’m signed up for an applique class in a couple weeks, so please enter me in the drawing. Even though my first applique project was named “Life is Too Short to Applique!”

  12. Wow, beautiful design, that turned into a GORGEOUS quilt.
    You all did an amazing job!!!!

  13. ‘Snicker’ on your cowboy’s comment. Super cute design and I second the black and white with toile – how stunning would that be?! Hmmm…a bit of Parisan flair…I could tell my mom I was adding some culture to my life at the end of the dirt road…think she’d buy it? I was born in Europe…it could work. Argh, woman! I have a sudden urge to shop for black and white

  14. Beautiful quilt! Love the colors.


Leave a Reply

