The Brown Bag Special

The Modern Quilt Guild I belong to, the Pecan Valley Quilt Guild, offers each month a block challenge, and every other month a Project challenge.

Each challenge is run by a volunteer. I volunteered to do the project challenge a few months ago, and mine spread out over a few months.

I offered up the Brown Bag Special. It’s a program I designed specifically for groups, and we had a lot of fun with it.

You start out with a fat quarter, and end up with a finished project, and you don’t know ahead of time what that project will be, or who will have worked on it.

Here’s how mine came out:

I started with the red polka-dot fat quarter, and ended up with this wall quilt/table topper.

My two helpers were Teresa and Donna. And I helped two other people in the group.

I really had fun quilting mine. It was a small piece, so I got to play around with some designs, yet didn’t have to cover an entire large quilt.

Here’s the back:

My Cowboy asked me how come I made the edge zigzag . . . I said: “Because I ran out of fabric.” And that’s the honest truth. I would have made it square if I’d only had a few more scraps, but instead, it came out a bit unusual, and I like it because of that.

At the end of the challenge, those of us who had our projects finished showed them to the group.

Here are pictures of how some of the projects turned out. We had a little bit of everything!

Jean made a purse:

Janet made a table runner:

Jessica made a purse, and TWO matching clutches to go with it — very inventive!

Teresa made a table runner:

Jeanette made a table runner:

Norma made a table runner:

Michelle made a table runner:

Janeen made a wall hanging:

Barbara made an entire LARGE quilt! She was dubbed the overachiever for this challenge:

If you’re interested in presenting this project challenge to your own quilting group, the Brown Bag Special program is available in my Etsy Shop. It comes complete with everything you need to know to easily run the program for your group. There’s also a second version called Brown Bag Special II. It’s run the same way, just makes a different block pattern.

Published in: on June 19, 2012 at 5:47 pm  Comments (3)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/06/19/the-brown-bag-special/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

3 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. hey girls!!!!! Very very clever indeed! I wish I had a group like yours in our neighborhood. My mother was so nifty with these things. I so missed her when I read your article 🙂

  2. Wow… Great photo taking! I see ME.. I never see me in pictures. This was a great project!

  3. Shelly, that is just great. I am in charge of our challenge for the guild’s quilt show this year. I may need to talk to you about some ideas! I love how your project turned out and great quilting!


Leave a Reply

