One Big Cabin

My friend, Doris, (who is also one of my fellow Blogger’s Retreat buddies) recently started up a new pattern company with her partner, Trina.

Row House Creations was formed in 2011, and their first pattern is a cute one!

It’s called “One Big Cabin”, and Doris and Trina have graciously agreed to allow me to give away a free copy of their pattern to one lucky winner here on my blog.

Their company’s tagline is “Built upon classic foundations”, so all their patterns are based on a traditional quilt block of some sort.

One Big Cabin is based on a half log cabin, and has the cutest little forest animals on it, all drawn by Doris. There’s a raccoon . . .

. . . a squirrel . . . and an owl.

The applique is done using an easy raw-edge technique, and with Trina’s background as a longarm quilter, each of Row House Creation’s patterns will have quilting diagrams and suggestions for you to use when your top is finished.

Doris and Trina sent me a copy of the pattern (isn’t it great to have designing friends?) and since my niece is having a baby boy in September, I decided this would be the perfect quilt for him, so I just whipped one right up. Here’s my version of One Big Cabin:

Now if I can just get it quilted before the shower next weekend.

If you’d like to win a free copy of Row House Creations’ “One Big Cabin” pattern, all you have to do to enter to win is leave a comment on this post. I’ll draw for a winner on Saturday, July 7th.

Published in: on July 3, 2012 at 7:45 pm  Comments (19)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2012/07/03/one-big-cabin/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is so cute I would love to win it.

  2. looks like a fun pattern!

  3. This quilt is ADORABLE!!!! Pls add my name to your contest.

    Rosa Robichaud
    robich@rogers.com

  4. This is an adorable pattern, I think your friend will go far with her patterns if this is any indication. My daughter is really into owls, but I have to say, that squirrel is pretty darn cute! Thanks for the chance at the pattern giveaway!

  5. Shelly, you whipped this right up?! I love this new pattern they did. I have been thinking I’ve got to get me one. I need to do that. It’s so cute!

  6. I love the whimsical critters.

  7. This is a really cute pattern! My niece is having a baby girl at the end of July. I still have time to make this!! Thanks for the chance to win the pattern!

  8. The quilt is so adorable!! Happy 4oth of July!

  9. That is the perfect quilt to make for my best friend’s new grandbaby! Thanks for your generosity!

  10. what a cute pattern! Thanks for the chance to win

  11. Oh, those critters are just too cute! That turned out great Shelly.

  12. Shelly, this quilt is so cute! Thank you for the opportunity to win the pattern.

  13. Looks great! I love the pattern but have no idea how to appliqué 😦 Maybe Doris can give me a quick lesson this weekend! Would love to make this quilt!!

  14. What cute animals! This looks to be a fairly quick way to make a baby quilt.

  15. This is such a cute pattern! I adore that raccoon. What a great baby quilt! Thanks for the chance!

  16. That is just about the cutest baby quilt I’ve ever seen! Those critters are just darling! Don’t know where you found the time to ‘whip’ one out, but I’m thinking that is one lucky baby! Gosh, I think a whole nursery with that theme would be so cool! Thanks for putting my name in the hat!

  17. I love that quilt – it is fantastic and I would love to make one! Yours turned out wonderfully!
    Tamara

  18. This is such a cute pattern. And one that they can have from baby on! I love that they also include quilting diagrams! Thanks!!

  19. I love free stuff…………….I want it. I love the pattern. We have owls and raccoons at our place……….not so many monkeys.
    Rose Marie


Leave a Reply

