Page 73

That’s where I’m at! One of my quilts was published in the book “500 Art Quilts”, fresh off the presses at Lark Books.

Here’s a quote about the book:

“500 Art Quilts, juried by Karey Bresenhan, showcases the work of 363 fabulous contemporary quilters. Martha Sielman, executive director of Studio Art Quilt Associates, describes the book as “an incredible feast for the eyes … this book is a must-have for every art lover, quilter, and fiber enthusiast.” 

They probably should have said: “. . . 362 fabulous contemporary quilters, and then that Shelly girl.” I am so proud to have my quilt in there; it makes all those hours of appliqué really mean something. I received my copy of the book on Friday, and waltzed it around my kitchen for awhile, almost forgetting that I needed to get real and fix supper for me and My Cowboy!

It’s really a fabulous book, very well done. I haven’t worked my way completely through it yet, but I am so honored to have been chosen and published right along with quilters such as Carol Bryer Fallert and Yvonne Porcella. OK, enough — I’ll go put some ice on my swollen head and talk to you later . . .

Published in: on January 20, 2010 at 8:09 am  Comments (10)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/01/20/page-73/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. WOW Shelly! What an honor! Congratulations. I am sure the quilt most definitely ranks up there with the other 362 fabulous contemporary quilts. Way to go 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Shelly! How excited! I’m looking forward to see the book.

  3. Congratulations Shelley! Must be quite a thrill to see your quilt in a book! Sharon

  4. Congratulations! How wonderful! Can’t wait to see the book and which of your quilts is in it.

    Cool!

    Bari

  5. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see your quilt.

  6. Congratulations!!! How wonderful to be featured in a book!!! Can’t wait for you to share some pics 🙂

    SheilaC

  7. Congratulations! I’m so excited for you. Now I HAVE to get a copy and have it out at my desk at work (because I’m a hermit and no one comes to my home out in the bush) so I can say…I know her.

  8. I can’t wait to get my copy so I can have you sign it!
    This is fantastic!! I’d be waltzing around for quite some time with that book…..keep up the good work!

  9. Congratulations! This looks like a fabulous book can’t wait to get a look at it and your quilt.

  10. […] I should learn to trust her and her judgment, because this quilt has won many awards in local, regional, and national competitions, and was published last spring in Lark Books’ “500 Art Quilts”. […]


Leave a comment