Blogger’s Quilt Festival

I’m a bit slow . . .

In more ways than one . . .

Up until today, I had myself convinced that, as a sponsor of the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, that meant that I could not enter a quilt in the festival. But after browsing through, and re-reading Amy’s post, I realize it is indeed open to everyone, and other sponsors have entered quilts, so maybe I should get my act together and enter my own . . . Duh!

So without further delay . . .

Here’s the quilt I’d like to share . . .

This is one of my most favorite quilts I’ve ever made (please ignore my bad grammar — thank you — I have no idea where to even begin to fix that sentence, so I’m not trying).

I had fun the entire time I was making it. Partly because it was such a special quilt for such a special person. Doesn’t that always make a quilt more fun and interesting to work on?

I made this quilt for My Cowboy. 

He likes this quilt very much, which makes me even more glad that I made it for him.

It has oodles of personalized things about it.

The name of our ranch.

He trains cutting horses and working ranch horses (there are photos of him working).

We raise cattle . . . some longhorns.

I put his name on it.

The names of his stud horses.

Lynn Brown panels containing pictures of working cowboys. (If you’d like to know where to get some of those panels, let me know — I can provide the info.)

Blocks with meanings special to us: Hole in the Barn Door, Missouri Star, Peace & Plenty, Country Crossroads, Rail Fence.

Colors and fabrics that fit the western/rustic theme of the quilt.

The first year that he was in possession of this quilt, he entered it in our local guild’s show, and won first place Viewer’s Choice with it. Now a seasoned quilt show veteran, he displays his prize ribbon proudly, and mentions it every chance he gets.

Meanwhile, I got asked for the pattern for this quilt so many times, that I turned it into a Block-of-the-Month set of patterns. The 6-month series has all sorts of extras and bonus patterns included throughout, and reads like a magazine of Cowboy Life every issue. It gives multiple options for how to personalize the quilt for your own farm or ranch, with full-size patterns and plenty of instructions. 

You can read more about it, and see pictures of some of the bonus projects by clicking here: Prairie Moon Ranch BOM.

Thanks for stopping by to look at my entry in the Blogger’s Quilt Festival, and when you get time, be sure to look at all the others. It’s a fantastic show with some of the sweetest stories you just don’t want to miss . . . kudos to Amy for all her hard work in organizing this fantastic event!

Published in: on May 24, 2010 at 1:32 pm  Comments (18)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/05/24/bloggers-quilt-festival/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

18 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is wonderful. I love quilts full of meaning.

  2. Very beautiful quilt work !

  3. Shelly this is one fabulous quilt! I can see why your Cowboy really loves it.

  4. Great quilt so full of stories. Wonderful.

  5. what a beautiful quilt!!!

  6. wOw!! This is gorgeous!!

    Thanks for sharing it 🙂

    SheilaC

  7. Beautiful!

  8. Beautiful quilt! I absolutely love it!

  9. Beautiful. I imagine the story behind its creation is breathtaking.

    http://www.aqsquiltnews.blogspot.com

  10. It’s great! I can see why he loves it. It is a joy to behold, and it has so many personal touches.

  11. I really like your cowboy’s quilt! I can see why others would want one too. Thanks for entering it in the Bloggers Quilt Festival.

  12. Wonderful quilt. My oldest daughter (my little cowgirl) would love it.

  13. That is a wonderful work! Thanks for sharing it with us.

  14. Terrific quilt!

  15. This single very wonderful Quilt work !!
    Greeting Marika

  16. Such a lovely special quilt. I’m so glad you decided to enter it.

  17. Very beautiful quilt blanket.
    I love it horses ,my husband carriage beater trainer already a lot many years .
    Interesting the fate I gain it Amy blog festival sponzor you your offer .
    Greeting for you Marika

  18. Hello, I saw this quilt at a show and was wondering if you sell the patterns still? I have a trainer that I would love to do this for.


Leave a comment