Blogger’s Quilt Festival

Amy’s doing it again.

Hosting the Blogger’s Quilt Festival.

I usually read about it, look at all the quilts, and completely forget that I can enter one my ownself. Last time, I was even one of the sponsors, and forgot until right at the end that I could actually enter, too. So this time, I’m on it. I’m entering!

And this is the quilt I’d like to show you.

It’s called “Purr-sian Delight: Miss Kitty’s Garden”. When I first started working on it, it was just called “Persian Delight”. But as I got going really good, The Queen decided I needed lots of help and supervision, or this quilt just was not going to turn out right. So she helped, and also insisted that I change the name.

I should learn to trust her and her judgment, because this quilt has won many awards in local, regional, and national competitions, and was published last spring in Lark Books’ “500 Art Quilts”.

It measures 40″ x 28″, and is completely hand appliqued using the needle-turn method. Some of the fabrics are ones I dyed myself. It’s also hand quilted, but that doesn’t even show because there are so many applique pieces.

At Houston’s IQA Festival this week, (and at Market just before it), there is a special exhibit of a selection of quilts from the book, and this quilt was chosen to be in the exhibit. And I’m off to Houston in a few days to go see it hanging there!

If you happen to be there, and see my quilt (or me), be sure and say hi!

Published in: on October 29, 2010 at 1:20 am  Comments (77)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/bloggers-quilt-festival-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

77 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Um, wow! This quilt is just stunning! Beautiful color choices and I love how intricate it is!

  2. They are both sooo beautiful – your quilt and your little helper! The applique is unbelievable. Congrats to a wonderful quilt, and to all it has achieved yet. Guess I will check back to your blog once in a while ;-)))

  3. That is one gorgeous quilt. Have fun in Houston.

  4. Absolutely lovely…and so is the cat!
    Karen

  5. This is unbelievably beautiful – I cannot even begin to imagine the hours of work that must have gone into this beauty.

  6. Lovely! If it could just take a trip to my house for a private exhibition (or permanent loan!) I’d be a very happy girl…….!

  7. wow- I have that book!!! is the applique fused – machine stitched or needle turned hand stitched??? but let me repeat – wowowowowow!!!

  8. Wowee, zowee! That’s just about the prettiest thing I’ve ever seen!

  9. Your quilt is spectacular! So, so beautiful.

  10. Wow! What a beautiful quilt. The colors are great. Have fun in Houston.

  11. This quilt is unbelievably beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  12. Stunning…absolutely stunning.

    I would be honored if you would display this quilt on my website’s ‘Share Your Quilt’. It is just amazing! I would love to help other quilters have the opportunity to learn more about you and your quilts.

    WOW!

  13. Jaw drop. Girl, that is just amazing! That looks like something that belongs in a museum! I’m almost speechless. Makes me want to go to Houston to oogle over it in person – and meet you. Don’t tell the Queen, but I think she’s going to have to share that crown with you. Have a fabulous trip!

  14. AMAZING! I am so relieved that I’m not the only person attracted in insanely intricate designs.

  15. Absolutely stunning. I’m trying to figure out if I’ll participate in this blog event. We’ll see if I have time. You are incredible. I love these intricate designs, but I don’t know if I’d have the patience for them.

  16. Whoa! That’s all I can say. Whoa!

  17. Absolutely gorgeous!! You should be so proud. The choice of colors is perfect. Good Job.

  18. Fabulous! I can see why it won so many prizes.

    Have fun in Houston!

  19. Amazing quilt! Have a great time in Houston:)

  20. Simply a treasure!!

  21. Miss Kitty certainly knows her stuff. Congratulations on all the recognition. Well deserved.

  22. Is it all your own design, Shelly? It’s stunning…wish I was going to Houston to see you and your quilt!

  23. beautiful!! I’ll check it out when I’m in Houston!

  24. It’s gorgeous and so is your kitty!

  25. What amazing applique. And the cat’s cute too!

  26. I can certainly see why this quilt has won so many awards. It is totally awe-inspiring. So intricate.

  27. WOW! What a quilt! Houston is lucky to have it.

  28. This is a beauty! No surprise that you’ve won awards with it. Thanks so much for sharing your incredible work!

  29. Your quilt is beautiful. I can see why it has won awards. Your assistant really helped you out! 🙂

  30. *THUD* This is flat-out gorgeous!!!!!!!!!!

  31. Oh my word – I am speechless! That is fabulous! Everything about it just rocks! Thanks for sharing with us!

  32. Beautiful! I am in awe of your hand applique!

  33. Stunning! Have fun at quilt market.

    Jo Anna

  34. It is a beautiful quilt. All that applique? Gorgeous. and lots of work.

  35. Love this, it is stunning!

  36. Hi Shelly.
    This quilt is stunning. What a beautiful piece of work!!
    I love the design and the use of colours.
    Have a great time in Houston.

  37. Spectacular–as a word, hardly covers this masterpiece! Your kitty boss really got your best work. Congratulations on all the deserved awards. Thanks for sharing your quilt’s story 🙂

  38. This quilt is amazing!! I’m so glad you shared it with us!! Have fun in Houston.

  39. You’ve used colour beautifully and your applique is incredible. It’s a stunning quilt.

  40. Awesome quilt. Have been eyeing the book, – think I have to buy it 😉

  41. This is truly a work of art. Utterly stunning. If I quilt forever I may just be able to make something half as gorgeous as this.

    Thanks for inspiring.

  42. questo quilt ha vinto tanti premi perchè è stupendo!
    Ciao Domenica

  43. Thank you for sharing your stunning quilt!

  44. Beautiful quilt!

  45. Oh I love that you had help! My two furred friends wont help. Okay that’s not true, Tiny thinks it good to sleep while I sew just out of the reach of whatever I’m quilting. Sunny on the other hand he thinks he can sew and that means he likes to stand in front of the sewing machine while I work. That never works out well.

  46. What a stunning quilt piece- it is well deserving of those accolades. I am sure that Houston will indeed be a buzz with so many wonderful quilts. Enjoy the show.
    Thanks for being a sponsor in Amy’s festival.
    Regards from Western Canada,
    Anna

  47. Gorgeous, gorgeous quilt, Shelley! This may be your best ver. Congratulations, and you deserve every honor you receive for it! Thanks for sharing it with us,

    Hope

  48. Wow, that is over the top, I thought my antique rose of sharon garden/bird quilt had no negative space until I saw your quilt. When you get a chance, check it out on my antique quilt blog-I think you are channeling this quilter from 1850. Kudos.

  49. Amazing quilt.

    Blessings

    Gail

  50. As an applique fan myself, I am thoroughly impressed, and completely agree that this is and should continue to be an award winning quilt. Absolutely lovely. My hat’s off to you.

  51. Simply Amazing!!

  52. Wow! Amazing quilt! 🙂

  53. What a beautyful quilt. And so much work you have put into it. Thanks for showing it at the bloggers quilt festival

  54. Stunning, georgous. Lucky you are at quilt festival, would love to be there.

  55. Wow! Amazing! Beautiful! And an adorable kitty, too.

  56. So pretty!

  57. Stunning quilt! Thanks for sharing!

  58. speechless.

  59. So beautiful! You deserve the awards and recognition.

  60. I could never, ever make something so magical.

  61. Fantastic appliqué, great colours, cute cat!
    Congratulations,
    Sabine

  62. That is GORGEOUS! Yes, I am shouting. Wow! Congratulations on the book also…and Houston…..how in the world did I miss all that?! Wow, I know a celebrity! Cool!

    Now I really want to be like you when I grow up!

  63. Wow, what amazing work! Have fun in Houston.

  64. I was there when the work started and it only got better the further Shelly went. I am so proud of her for her absolutely fine work. If there is anything that makes me a little sad, it is that none of this seems to rub off on me. Well, actually, that probably isn’t true, because after 15 years of hanging around her, I am a better quilter than I ever would have been. She is a fine quilter and this is a deserved award. I hope you have a great time at Houston, Shelly.

  65. I love your work and work like to subscribe to your wonderful blog.

  66. I just saw this quilt at the show and it is truly fabulous. mucho congrats. I was so bummed not to be able to photograph it, so wheeee so fun to see it here! Miss Kitty is a sweetie pie!

  67. absolutely one of the most beautiful quilts i’ve ever seen!! wow!! thanks so much for sharing and have a great day

  68. Amazing quilt! I currently have “500 Art Quilts” out from the library. Great book – highly recommend it!

  69. OMG…what an awesome quilt…i love it

  70. From the small picture I thought it was going to be a peacock. But it is soooo much more. Thanks for sharing, it’s beautiful!

  71. Good Kitty! Your quilt is stunning, and you did a fabulous job. It’s easy to see why it’s winning awards.

  72. Oh my gravy… that’s applique? (jaw drop). It’s so beautiful… What a beautiful quilt!

  73. What a beautiful quilt. Love it! Just one question, how long did it take you to complete?

  74. Well it’s easy to see why it’s winning awards all over the place. So beautiful!

  75. Gorgeous work! Thanks for sharing this jewel!

  76. […] & Aloha! Blogger’s Quilt Festival « Prairie Moon Quilts – October 29, 2010 – 12:20 […]

  77. STUNNING! Absolutely STUNNING!

    hugz
    Pam


Leave a comment