2011 Final Countdown Task One

. . . I’ve Got The Piles . . .

And unlike in old westerns, when they say they have the piles, I don’t mean I have hemorrhoids.

I mean I have huge piles of “stuff” . . . everywhere . . . taking over my studio . . . about to topple over . . . so much in some of them, I couldn’t possibly find anything if I wanted to.

Do you have the piles, too?

Please tell me I’m not alone!

Our task for today is:

Clean up a pile.

Just pick one pile and clean it up.

Now, if you’re like me, and have more than one pile, I don’t expect you (or me) to clean up every pile in just one day. Just pick the one that’s bothering you the most, and work on that one today.

And if you’re not a pile maker, you can still leave a comment to that effect, just so the rest of us can be jealous (or make fun of you), then sit back and know that you’re already done with today’s task because you clean your piles up as you go. How can you live like that?

Now I know this next part will be frightening to look at (it terrifies me), and those of you who aren’t pile makers will be cringing, but here’s a few shots of some of my piles as of 6:30 this morning.

My desk. Pathetic. And yes, that IS a table in front of my desk. Doesn’t everyone have a table in front of their desk to catch the overflow? Obviously, I’ve been thinking it makes sense. Hello?

The floor. That’s mostly a pile of UFOs and supplies I have no idea what to do with. Decisions need to be made.

My island. It’s always piled, no matter how hard I try to keep it clear.

The stool beside the island. Obviously not for sitting on.

My scrap basket. Remember me saying I was going to take care of this every month so it didn’t get out of hand like this ever again? No? Good. Because evidently, I don’t remember saying that, either.

My scraps. I had visions of all of these fitting into that one biggest red bin that’s piled like a mountain. Said vision is apparently not coming to fruition just yet.

And please notice above that I said “some of my piles”. These shots do not include the pile beside my sewing machine, the pile beside the ironing board, the pile under the longarm, or the piles in front of the bookcase.

And you’re now wondering if you should nominate me for the next episode of “Hoarders”, and I’m hoping my daughter doesn’t read my blog.

Furthermore, that’s enough embarrassment for one day for me, so I’m off to go start work on the piles. I’m picking the smallest one first, and once I’ve tackled that one, maybe it’ll be motivation to do more.

If I’m not buried under an avalanche of something by the end of the day, I’ll come back this evening and post updates so you can see what I got done. You all need to give me some before and after shots of your own progress, and don’t forget to leave a comment here letting us all know that you did today’s task, so you’ll be eligible for the prizes.

Good luck to us all!

I’m going in . . .

Ready . . . Set . . . GO!

Published in: on December 29, 2011 at 7:29 am  Comments (21)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2011/12/29/2011-final-countdown-task-one/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah…Piles! I have a “few” piles of unprocessed gifted fabric. That is where I will start.

  2. Okay… we’re selling our home. We had an offer and we were SUPPOSED to move by Nov 27th. – it gave us 2-1/2 weeks to pack and we packed the kitchen first … that was a big mistake… shoulda been the LAST room to pack and I packed my sewing room. (NOTE: we now only have 2 forks, 2 or 3 butter knives, 2 plates, 2 bowles, etc, etc.)

    A week before the final legalities, the bank pulled out for the buyer of our home and the house did not sell. Hubby looked at me and said, “Do we un-pack?” We both took a vote and said NO… unless we REALLY need a specific item.

    Thankfully, we took the time, while packing to itemize each item. All packed items are listed in a book.

    Now, that being said… I’ve since pulled out a few quilty items and everything is still super tidy, in my sewing room. Okay… there’s packed boxes everywhere, but it’s tidy… cept I need to cut up some scraps of fabrics and pull out my mini bins and place these scraps of fabrics in the bins…. In other words, I’ll sorta be doing the opposite of what you’re asking me to do….

    Purposely make a mess and tidy it up, once again. LOL

    Okay, I know it sounds complicated but I understand myself and I will be posting pictures on my blog.

    Long story short – COUNT ME IN, on this one! LOL

    Rosa Robichaud
    Saint John, New Brunwick
    Canada

  3. I resemble those piles. LOL. Will do later. Desk not looking too bad as I am wroking on something but I can tackle at least one pile.

  4. Got your contest on my FaceBook page!!!

    Rosa

  5. This is nice to know you have *piles* too! I started on mine right after finishing up my Christmas sewing and still have a ways to go, guess I could get to working on it now, couldn’t I?

  6. Count me in! Although in thinking about this, we could probably spend three days working on various piles.

  7. Ok, I got my cutting table cleaned off, so at least that work space is ready now, will send pics to you.

  8. Now I have cleaned up my table. There are pictuers showing before and after on my blog http://ullabritt.wordpress.com/2011/12/30/tre-uppgifter-infor-det-nya-aret/. The text is in Swedish, but you will understand.

    Regards
    Ulla-Britt Önnestam
    Sweden

  9. Oh. My. Heck! I went on a spree and went through fabric piles like a crazy person. I have pictures, but don’t have them downloaded yet. I might wait and put all three days up at once, but trust me, it was a pile and now it is less of one.

  10. I cleaned off the cutting table. That was mutliple piles. :0 Cleaned off three chairs, a pile on the desk and the table. Spent a large part of the day working on the scrap bin (aka galvanized wash tub) I am going to continue to work on this throughout the week/weekend until I get it all done! Thanks for the motivation. But, no fair, you had a helper!

  11. No time to post about it just yet, but thought I’d chime in and join the crowd so you wouldn’t feel alone, but it looks like we’re gathering a crowd. I’m thinking we could turn this into a Pile Party. We certainly have enough fabric confetti. I’m a piler and in preparation for Christmas and the kids coming back home, I had to corral all the piles that had migrated into their rooms. Thus, I now have piles of boxes stuffed with piles of fabric. It was my pre-Christmas solution and now you have called me on it. So tomorrow I will tackle the towering cardboard. Just picture me pounding my chest like Tarzan and watch the boxes quake in fear.

  12. Does it count if I worked on someone elses piles of stuff? One of my friends picked me up at 8:30 this morning and we went over to a 3rd friend’s house and found her sewing room. All her stuff had been pulled out of an upstairs bedroom and dumped into the basement bedroom and she was lost. The three of us spent about 4 hours putting her room together. I haven’t looked to see which pile in my sewing room I need to work on. Sufice it to say I have several piles. Perhaps tomorrow — if I don’t spend all day at the DMV getting car tags!

  13. Well my blog is updated with photos of my piles.
    That’s as far as I got LOL…the piles are still in place but at least I’ve identified them and looked at them quite a few times.

  14. Got Part 1 half down…. that is, to LOOK at my stuff, prepare a plan on how to attack this mess, take pictures and blog about it.

    Will be working on Part 1 today and I might even do Part 2, too!

    http://www.robich.blogspot.com/

    Tks Shelly! Really do enjoy following this!

    Rosa

  15. Ok I have to take this one on. I will start with the pile on my sewing chair (newly washed fabric that needs to be pressed) oh wait, first I have to clear off the ironing board 😉

  16. You’re talking to the pile queen. 🙂

  17. This sounds like a great motivator so…..I cleaned off my cutting table, and my ironing board. They were both piled high from pre-Christmas projects.

  18. I’m glad you are giving us to the 5th to get’er done. I’m on my second day of task one…cleaning up piles has lead to rearranging of furniture and bins in my sewing space. I’m not sure if I’ll get to the other tasks but just getting this done, will be great. Thanks for the kick!

  19. Looking at your photos, I feel right at home (unfortunately). LOL I doubt I could be brave enough to post pics, but I admire that you did.
    Good luck!

  20. Whew! Done!
    http://zanasninis.blogspot.com/2011/12/final-count-down-task-one.html

  21. just updating…I finished task one. I had lots of piles!
    http://fortheloveofneedleandthread.blogspot.com/2012/01/sewing-space-clean-up.html


Leave a comment