Procrastination Challenge

Webster defines procrastination as “putting off intentionally the doing of something that should be done.”

The famous personal-improvement author Napoleon Hill says: “Procrastination is the bad habit of putting off until the day after tomorrow what should have been done the day before yesterday.”

All I know is: I’m an expert at it, and I don’t even try!

I joke to my family that our Italian last name, when literally translated, must surely mean “cheese-loving procrastinator”. I know the problem is genetic. I know I get it from my father. I am also painfully aware that I have passed it on to my youngest daughter, poor thing.

In order to cure myself, I have to resort to game-like activities to keep me interested and on track. Maybe I have a combination of procrastination disease and ADD — oh, no! Is there any hope?!?

Just in case there really is hope, I’m embarking on another effort to cure myself, and I’ve decided to issue a challenge — yes, in the form of a game — both to myself, and to any of you who need a kickstart and would like to join me:

3ufosI’ve written down the names of 3 UFOs that I’ve been procrastinating on on little slips of paper, and I’m going to put them into a bowl and draw one out. Starting Monday, August 17, I’m going to devote 30 minutes at a time at least 4 times a week to working on the project whose name I drew out. 

Every time I work on it for 30 minutes, I’m putting $1 in an envelope and storing it with the project. When the project is done, the envelope should have several dollars in it, and I will then allow myself to use the money to buy whatever I want: more fabric, a new tool or gadget, a book I’ve had my eye on, some more quilting patterns, thread, notions, anything my little heart desires.

Edward Young says: “Procrastination is the thief of time . . . “Procrastination Challenge

I don’t know about you all, but I need all the time I can get, and I’m ready for procrastination to stop stealing it from me. 

So if you’d like to join me in beating procrastination and finish some of your own UFOs, leave me a comment, and list your 3 UFOs. On Monday, I’ll post which UFO I drew out to work on, and maybe I’ll even have a picture of it in its current condition so I can compare when I’m finished. You can link or comment back and do the same. Each week, I’ll post an update, possibly with pictures, and you can all link/comment and state your progress as well.

When I’m done, I’ll post a picture, and tell you how much money it got me, and what I have decided to spend the money on. You can all comment and show off your finished projects and we’ll see how much money you “earned” as well. It’s not a race or a competition, and if you work slow, then it just means your money pot will be larger the longer it takes you! I’m just hoping to make some steady forward progress on some things that have been UFOs for way too long.

Who’s with me?

Published in: on August 14, 2009 at 2:15 pm  Comments (28)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://prairiemoonquilts.wordpress.com/2009/08/14/procrastination-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

28 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great idea! Maybe that would help me get some of my UFO’s finished up too!

  2. […] Challenge Update I said I’d post more info on the Procrastination Challenge today . . […]

  3. […] Did you read about my Procrastination Challenge? […]

  4. […] PC Update Here’s the next Monday update on my Procrastination Challenge. Have any of you Cowgirled Up and joined me […]

  5. […] with myself I can hardly stand it! I haven’t missed one single session of working on my Procrastination Challenge quilt. If only I had that kind of dedication to all my projects — just think how much […]

  6. […] Update – Oct. 19 This update on my Procrastination Challenge is a bit more exciting for me . . […]

  7. […] Procrastination Challenge project is, of course, still up there: Stashballs. It’s growing, isn’t […]

  8. […] I could bust! I can’t believe that a simple challenge offered to myself in the form of a Procrastination Challenge is having such a good effect — I’ll be keeping this up for a long […]

  9. It’s so nice to know I’m not alone! A procrastinator and possible ADD! Playing games is the only way to get things done…. may I join in at this late date?

  10. […] Update – Nov. 16 It’s time once again for an update on my Procrastination Challenge . . […]

  11. […] Nov. 16 What’s on my wall today? It’s changed a little since last week. My Procrastination Challenge project is continuing. See it here: […]

  12. […] Update – Nov. 30 Time . . . once again . . . for an update on my Procrastination Challenge . . . I have a blogless friend, Barb, who is participating along with us. She called me over the […]

  13. […] am very anxious to get to pick another Procrastination Challenge project. I think next time, I’ll pick something that’s a little closer to done, so I […]

  14. […] the quilt, but I get bored easily, and I’m very bored with this one. However, thanks to my Procrastination Challenge, I’m plugging along on it, and I really hope to be done by the end of the year — […]

  15. […] how’s YOUR Procrastination Challenge coming along? I know this is a hard time of year to keep up with things. It’s been a bit of a […]

  16. […] YOUR Procrastination Challenge? It’s a busy time of year, I know . . . that’s why I got behind . . . hope that’s […]

  17. […] would change too much this week, but I managed to keep a few things moving forward. Here’s my Procrastination Challenge this week: […]

  18. […] can’t wait to get to pick another project for my next Procrastination Challenge. How is YOUR Procrastination Challenge coming along? Oh, you don’t have one? Then what are you waiting for? Better pick one and join […]

  19. […] Update – Jan. 4 It’s a new year, and I fully intend to keep doing my Procrastination Challenge. It has helped me so much, I have no intention of stopping now. I highly recommend that you join […]

  20. […] Update – Jan. 11 So close . . . and yet so far . . . I’m not quite done with this Procrastination Challenge project, but it’s getting so close I’m getting real anxious for it to be […]

  21. […] squirrel away a little mad money while getting a UFO off your plate. C’mon! What’s YOUR Procrastination Challenge? Published […]

  22. […] for me. I finished the Stashballs quilt, which you can see HERE, and now I get to start another Procrastination Challenge project. So I picked three that are in desperate need of […]

  23. […] YOU picked a Procrastination Challenge project for yourself? If not, you really should. It’s very motivating. Published […]

  24. […] how’s YOUR Procrastination Challenge coming along? If you haven’t picked one yet, why not? If you need inspiration, do what my […]

  25. […] the money pot. I hope to have a real update for you next week. Meanwhile, my sister has her current Procrastination Challenge project almost finished. How are YOU doing on yours? Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  26. […] completely ignoring my Procrastination Challenge project for I can’t even remember how many weeks, I managed to do a little catching up over […]

  27. […] to our retreat last weekend, and did a lot of catching up on lots of things, one of those being my Procrastination Challenge project, my Memory Lane quilt. I thought by taking only handwork, it would force me to work on it […]

  28. […] original Procrastination Challenge worked really well for me to get my Stashballs quilt finished, but has not worked so well for the […]


Leave a comment